You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wonderful Mystery of Being "In the Flow!"

in #psychology6 years ago

Yep. Exactly. When you're in that flow, or rather, when that flow takes hold of you, everything seems to come to you effortless. You start something, a text, a painting, a composition, and before you know it, without consciously aiming for a specific goal, you're suddenly there; the goal has sucked you in and did the work for you... Too bad it's not always this way, too bad we are made to set goals and reach them every day for mere survival; those goals make you do all the work...

Thanks again for a great read @denmarkguy :-)

Sort:  

I agree. I think once you start and focus on one thing at a time, that's the secret to being in the flow. What do you think?

That's just it: I don't know :-) I really don't know how or why the flow takes over sometimes... It's a mystery to me. And I'm afraid that as soon as I'm conscious about the flow, it'll leave me ;-)

Precisely! For me, it's also important to not try to "push" anything.

Thankfully, I am 100% self-employed, so I have the relative luxury of being able to "step away" if something seems like I am getting stuck, and trying my hand at something else. Conversely, I also have the luxury of not being subject to "time limits" (MOST of the time, anyway!) when I DO find myself in a flow situation... I can just keep cranking till it runs out.

It has been somewhat harder recently because of that thing you mention..."mere survival." Worrying about it actually makes us inefficient, and yet we can't exactly ignore it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75