My Interview with the Ozorian Prophet

in #psytrance6 years ago

26195399_10154929310326396_2935799748887082340_n.jpg
https://ozorianprophet.eu/interview/kri-samadhi-action-karma-comes-together-mind/

Soundcloud Link
https://soundcloud.com/radiozora/infocus-krisamadhi

INTERVIEW | MUSIC | RADIOZORA
KRI SAMADHI – when the action of karma comes together with the mind…
BY NOVISHARI / 2018-02-09
All ears focus on KRI SAMADHI and his mix made especially for radiOzora, so now The Prophet takes you a bit further into discovering the man behind the project, the audio illustrated way.

What were the events or experiences that set you off on this journey?

Finding Goa trance in a record store in Atlanta, GA in 1996 and Djing it that night at a gig! New York City back in 1997 and ’98 was something new and the magic was happening. The parties were close and intimate, alive and full power.

What stands behind the name of your project?

‘Kri’ came to me in a psychedelic vision in 1992, later to find out in 1999 the it meant “the action of karma” in Hindu. Later on I added Samadhi to the end to engage the next stage of my production. It is also part of my production company name, touchsamadhi.com, which I started 18 years ago.

Who have your greatest teachers been, your greatest inspirations? Who has had the greatest influence on your musical soundscapes?

There are so many to choose from. Classics such as Plastikman, Future Sound of London, Coil, Skinny Puppy, X-Dream, M.O.S., Organic Noise, Sandman, Beast, Eat Static, LOUD, TRDLX,
Alessandro Cortini, Surachai, Severence, the list goes on…

How has your sound, your taste in music developed throughout the years?

Very much, every year seems to be new and ground breaking for me. Always new processes to
learn, new people to share ideas with and the best of all getting turned onto amazing new
music.

How about those mind-blowing, life-changing experiences that have shaped you and your sound?

So many I have witnessed in so many different scenes. From the 1990 rave scene, to the industrial music scene, to the Goa trance scene, and to watch it all blossom is mind-blowing in itself. But X-Dream live in NYC when Radio just came out was one of my most life-changing experiences.

Which one of your releases/tracks are the most characteristic of your sounds or stand the closest to you for some reason?

The most recent would be my track ‘Paramadhi’, released on Psyde Effect Records, but so many of the new unreleased stuff that is coming out too. But the closest to me would be my album ‘Konx Om Pax’, for the amount of love and attention that went into it, it has all my heart.

What projects are you involved in?

My main project is the psytrance side of ‘Kri Samadhi’. I also do psychedelic techno and remixes under that name. I do a live ambient modular synth act called ‘A Pale Void’, a progressive psy project called ‘PulseWave’, a neo-Goa act called ‘Annunaki’, and some psychedelic sludge metal on the side;) You can check my releases at Krisamadhi.com.

Who do you think are the most cutting-edge newest sound makers in the scene? Who are your newest discoveries?

Electrypnose, Eat Static, Martian Arts/Nektar, Kabayun. New discoveries in sound design would be Sigha and TRDLX.

Which artists remain the ultimate classics for you in the scene (or in music generally)?

Kox Box, Scrob, Electrypnose, X-Dream, Sandman.

Scene at home?

I have been throwing Goa/psytrance parties in Asheville, NC for 20 years. We have one of the most vibrant scenes in the US. Magical land and magical people. Something to be witnessed, a must.

Most memorable gigs, experiences?

Playing 2 sets in Puerto Rico back in 2000, flying there with no map to the party and making it, playing alongside with all the mentors such as Hallucinogen, Kox Box, X-Dream, Total Eclipse, MFG and Infected Mushroom.

What do you think about our scene, psychedelic gatherings and
community, and their role in our lives, if any:)?

In general, the community is very caring and loving, open arms and ready to enjoy this thing we call life on the planet. There is nothing better and it seems that is is always our goal to introduce people to this unique experience.

What are some of the greatest challenges you have faced so far as an artist or producer? How about the moments that you felt were the greatest rewards so far?

That Kick and Bass!!! Lol, really, how many times do we have to go over this? My greatest reward was finally going down the modular synth rabbit hole. Best thing I have ever done. And no idea why I waited so long to do it.

Musically speaking what’s still on your bucket list? If it wasn’t this, what would it be?

To travel overseas and play all the big festivals, head to Goa and stop in Greece to
make music with all my friends there.

What are your other passions in life?

Is there another passion beside modular synths and music… I don’t know if I have any more time… But besides this, my family is my other passion.

What are you working on at present? What are you looking forward to the most?

I have 2 new EP’s I am working on and getting released very soon. And these 2 will be the most exciting thing to me ever in this moment and so far in this life.

Sort:  

Congratulations @krisamadhi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

super interesting guy, good inspiration for all eurorack and hardware producers especially in the psy scene

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71