Ramblings of a Water Protector. A post I made from Standing Rock.

in #ptsd5 years ago

02.09.2017
On this day.

This fight has taken a huge toll on me.
My family has paid stacks of cash to support my time here, as have my friends and even total strangers.
The earth has paid a huge amount for my being here too, we use so many resources in this fight.



alt
Source



I have found that my compatriots are often against me, and that people in this movement are bought out.
I have been betrayed by law enforcement and media.
I have sacrificed my safety, my security and my ability to pursue a lifestyle of comfort and ease.
I have walked away from jobs and even allowed a ticket to Hawaii to expire, so I could remain here in defense of the water and to support the warrior women and youth of this movement.

However, anything I have given, anything I have lost, anything which has been taken, is nothing compared to the price paid by future generations, the price paid by the river, the cost which our planet's air will pay, and the toll taken on the swimmers, crawlers, flyers and walkers.
Our animal relatives cannot speak out against this greed, against this corruption, our animal allies cannot defend themselves, or comprehend the scope of destruction facing them.

As much as I have given to be here, as much as others have given me, it's a small, small pittance when compared to the value gained by billionaires, they profit on all sides of this fight.
They will profit from the oil, it's extraction, transport, refining and consumption, they profit from the jail's holding brave water protectors, they profit from the militarization of police, selling weapons of war and training the cops in their use, they profit from the poisoning of the water, having already privatized water which once belonged to us all, and they profit from the mental distress, selling drugs illicit and prescribed, having been invested in the black market and big pharma.

Our reality is based on value, and our measure of value is misguided.
Real value is emotion, feelings and experiences.
Real value is safety, for our children and knowing that the youth of future generations will know abundance of water, food, and shelter.
Real value is not measured in dollars, instead measured by our ability to provide for others that which all are worthy of, life.

#HowToBeAWaterProtector

Sort:  

The problem with believing in non-monetory values makes you sound like an idealist.

Nowadays, being an idealist is seen as naive and foolish - it used to be that idealists were called visionaries.

You were not born at the right time to be appreciated; but probably, born at the right time to help future generations have a future.

(resteemed)

I was raised fifteen years on a hippie commune. So yeah, I was raised with values outside of the mainstream. Interestingly the mainstream seem to be imploding due to greed.

After living five months in a prayer camp, working to protect the drinking water of millions of people who get their drinking water from the Missouri river my life has not been the same. People who set aside comfort and ease to stand in the common defense see their needs as secondary to the needs of the many. All politicians need to be taught this level of social obligation before they engage in attempting to better the world through legislation.

Greetings fellow Earth Warrior. There has been a major beneficial restructuring of @EarthTribe, and we have already uped our groups SP from 1200 to over 10,000 in just matter of days. We are asking for current members that have been receiving continuous support from @EarthTribe to delegate a minimum of 250 SP to the group (with the option to delegate more for a higher % up-vote) to help us grow further, and offer more support, exposure, and rewards to all tribe members. Here is the video update if you missed it. Thank you for being an amazing Earth Warrior - we have also rented a 2500SP delegation for the next 30 days!!

https://steemit.com/tribevibes/@earthtribe/big-announcments-the-tribe-vibes-duid-shaman-selections-for-tsu-and-new-earth-tribe-opportunities

Let us know if you have any issues with this, if you need help, or if you need an invite sent to the @EarthTribe Discord server. You can also contact ELAmental#2433 on Discord for more info. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94