You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The best of the average

in #quality6 years ago

It seems to me special is often not intentional. Sometimes the stars align and the magic happens - of course it happens more often for people that are really trying. But even my favourite people here are meh at least 25 percent of the time. The creative process is a little bit mysterious like that. I've definitely been in a meh rut lately.

Sort:  

Well it's a good point that you rarely can be intentionally special. You can try to be different and unique, but it usually doesn't end up too well. However I think quite many people are intentionally trying not to be too special!

Picking up the safer route by avoiding speciality is a good way to be average. And that's rarely the most creative way.

As a famous example, imagine if Banksy stopped doing graffiti because someone might get upset about it? "I'll just paint on a canvas"
I think it could take something off from his uniqueness.

I suppose you are right. I look at a lot of uninteresting posts and I figure they are written by peope that have not fostered any creativity, but obviously this is the place to start fostering it. A meh post written by someone trying to be creative is always better than the run-of-the-mill meh post. Alright, I seem to have taken the adoption of your term "meh" a little too far :)

I'm a lazy replier so I'm sorry as it took a few days. But you're really stuck with the meh, but I can't blame you for that. Most life of quite many people is totally meh, so it's a wonderful feeling to be described and discussed.

We are living the meh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67