Lockdown adventures

I must admit that I still enjoy this unlimited time at home. I have never done so many things inside before. I took it as a great opportunity to improve some skills and maybe learn new ones, such as gardening inside or working with sourdough.

Today, I'd like to show you my gardening update and talk about Ignac a little bit. But first, this is how it looks outside today. We had lunch on the balcony, and it was great! It's 21 degrees Celsius which is very hot for the beginning of April. I even got tanned from spending time on the balcony!

2.jpg

This day didn't start very well for me. I couldn't sleep well and woke up at 6:30 which is way to early for me. I was too tired to proceed with my exercises and promised myself that I will do them in the afternoon.

Then I prepared my breakfast. I usually eat my smoothie on the sofa with my legs stretched and my laptop placed on them. I put my smoothie bowl next to me and eat a mouthful every now and then. Just after I started eating, I somehow dropped my spoon on the bowl and it fell on the sofa. Half of my smoothie was spoiled all over the sofa. I was lucky that it didn't hit my laptop. It took me a while to clean it and there are still light stains which I will have to get rid of somehow.

But it looked nice 😊 Lesson learned - eat like a civilized person at the table.

1 2.jpg

I have finished my granola with the smoothie bowl in the morning, so I prepared another batch. It's our favorite snack at home and I make it at least once a week.

Usually, I use 2 cups of rolled oats and half a cup of walnuts, pecan nuts, sunflower seeds, and hazelnuts. If I have almonds at home I add them too. You can add any nuts or seeds that you like. I would avoid sesame seeds as they could burn in the oven.

Then I heat up 1-2 tbsp coconut oil with 1 tbsp maple syrup (you can add more if you like your granola on the sweeter side) and pour the mixture in a large bowl where I mixed the rolled oats with other ingredients. I add a lot of cinnamon and vanilla and still it thoroughly, so that every single seed is covered with the wet ingredients. I bake it in the preheated oven (175 degrees Celsius) for about 15 minutes. Then I take it out of the oven, give it a good stir and bake until golden brown (10-15 minutes).

It's so easy, healthy and cheap to make. You can save a lot of money if you make it at home instead of buying it in the grocery store.

1 1.jpg

And now to my garden!

The celery on the right is about 5 days old and yesterday I placed another one in the water. You can see that it is sprouting already. I'm not sure if I will put it in the soil as it doesn't grow the roots. I will keep it as long as I can in the water and then I will see if it will require to be planted in the soil or not.

20200408_130634.jpg

These leeks and onions are also about 5 days old. I am so proud of them! Those leeks are growing so fast. It was the best decision to plant them in the soil!

Today, I've planting ginger in the same pot but you can't see it yet as it's covered with the soil. I hope that it will sprout quickly.

20200408_130817.jpg

2 days ago I've started planting wheat grass. I haven't done it before and I was not sure how fast it would grow but as you can see it grows very fast! I keep it covered with some newspaper as it required dark environment. If it goes so well, we will enjoy the wheat grass in the smoothies in about 2 weeks.

20200408_130901.jpg

Just a few hours ago I've started sprouting arugula. I should see the first sprouts tomorrow and I will keep you updated too!

20200408_130928.jpg

And my dear fellow Ignac! If it goes like this I will be able to bake my first sourdough bread in 4-5 days. It's fascinating to watch him grow so quickly.

20200408_131031.jpg

I know that this doesn't belong to my garden but I am happy to see it blooming too. It started blooming 2 weeks ago after about 6-8 years of not giving me any flowers. Now, I have 3 already and there will be many more to come!

20200408_131132.jpg

I hope that you have found something interesting to do during the lockdown too. It's a great change to learn something or do something what we have always dreamed of, so let's not waste it!

Thank you for visiting!

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60