What Would You Do With 300,000 SteemPower?

in #question6 years ago

wondering.jpg

Hello Steemians!

I've been wondering about the impact of my vote in general, about the responsibility that is bestowed on me.

Part of me wants to use my vote to improve the content discovery on steemit.com...which is something that has been kind of broken...partially because people like me don't spend time focusing on curating certain tags like the "photography" tag.

The other part of me wants to give a leg up for people who want to make the world a better place...whatever that means where they are. (something like this)

They are both meaningful and needed in this world. But it's difficult to do both...there is only so many hours in a day.

What would you do?

What would you do if you had 300,000 SteemPower? How would you spend your day? Where would you improve?

Good insightful comment on the matter will receive a good upvote.

Sort:  

By improving the system and spending time curating we help people help themselves.

When anyone is "helping" others the first thing I evaluate is whether they are actually helping that Person/Thing/Cause launch or creating a dependency. :)

No matter what you decide, I like the way you are thinking.

This is exactly why I stopped supporting certain Initiatives that’s I believe to have good intentions, but which are indiscriminate about quality or very hierarchical in nature. There are a few of these that I won’t name. I can’t say they haven’t done any good, but they’ve also turned a lot of users into bot addicts and created an image of steemit that causes some users to give up as the whole process is pretty inorganic.

I like your adopt a minnow project. I’m planning to do the same thing.

Why not encourage local NGOs with good social causes behind (that I know personally are honest and well managed) to create their own steemit blog and upvote all their content? So many areas and great causes that could hugely benefit from it like disabled people, cancer research, horphans, environment... I would definitely feel super well seeing my impact on it

I really like this idea. Im taking notes.

i think spend it on minnows who can curate great and insightful articles that help steemit , been a minnow is tough and having someone with much stempower to upvote you boost the morale

Wow, I am really inspired by your reply touched me so much that I so want to be actively helping others.....

So If I were to have 300k SP... I would support projects on steem that would help my investment grow. For example I run @paywithsteem. Projects like this need support to be able to continue development and not just on the announcement posts and I know this first hand through running this. I am not saying just to support one project you need to support ALL of them. This will help you in the long run by giving more uses for STEEM.

I would spend it giving small unsuspecting minnows who do an honest effort huge upvotes worth several dollars each, to completely blow their mind and make their day.

I remember when this happened to me the first times, it made a pretty big impact. I still get a boost out of it now, as well. A $1-2 upvote means the world to some people! Especially when they are neglected by everybody else!

I like this idea. Heck I remember when I first started and I also remember my first big upvote. It was super exciting. I was absolutely blown away by the reward for my work. Doing this for new small users could really drive a lot of loyalty to the platform.

I think you're absolutely right. That one or two dollar upvote can go a long way in terms of post-promotion too for minnows.. Suddenly they're able to afford an upvote bot, and stuff like that. That really speeds things up when you're small.

And thanks so much for those huge upvote, you all! They still make me tingle inside when it happens :)

It's not just the post promotional effect but also the posters own psychology that gets a big boost IMO. Those first upvotes are what really got me excited about steemit.

I have to agree that the psychological boost of an occasional phat vote can provide great benefits to the platform, by encouraging new users to stick it out and write good content.

Thanks!

Yep, I don't think many people take this into consideration. It's one of the reasons I try to leave small votes all over the place

The 'Stewards of Gondor' delegates of @fulltimegeek are really excellent examples of what I think could best profit the platform.

$300k in $5k delegations is 60 delegates, and that would produce a significant impact on minnows, were they of similar caliber as those Stewards presently representin'.

That would be awesome, a lot of people would appreciate that to the highest and guess what when they get such an opportunity they will like to do the same....very nice of you

Yes, this is true. Even as a big minnow, it still feels great to get a sudden and unexpected boost on your posts, especially when they take the time to read and comment. If I were a whale I’d try to do two or three of these a day.

Couldn't agree more with you @pandorasbox

You are exactly thinking the same thing that anybody would think for a while when he has so much responsibilities and value. Then in the second moment the answer comes, you have to be loyal to yourself and good to the society. Do what suits you and that helps developing someone. If i say about steemit, you have to do more smart work then the authors who arE publishing the material. Take out the better one out of the crowd. Atleast your soul will be happy , yahh i helped somebody well deserving.

I would spend it on upvoting myself and raping the reward pool, like any decent whale nowadays. After I have gathered enough, I would redistribute it to the minnows and poor people.

The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

One thing for sure, do not give that 300k to another whale 😂

With 300.000 SteemPower, I would:

  1. Keep doing what you are doing with the people that are commenting on your blogs, that's already awesome
  2. Keep finding those great projects like @ejemai is doing in parts of the world that need it the most and upvote them
  3. Upvote projects that help finding great initiatives and finding great content on Steemit (maybe with Utopian.io?)

If you can help out with your massive SP to support a project that improves curation and filtering, everybody wins. Even with 300K SteemPower you won't have the time to read every single post on this platform :)

Just a thought: if I had 300K SP, and my posts would bring around 400 comments per post, I would delegate some of the SP to someone I would trust and ask him to upvote and answer all the comments on my blog.

  1. Give a bunch to @taskmaster/

You forgot that one @fitzgibbon. 😁

How could I forget the obvious choice?

Trust someone to answer all the comments on your blog would be nice that way your building not only your blog but a family, you will go a long way with that

with 300k power you can make small community like thealliance in steemit or any other and help all their members , With small community its easier to maintain friendship with all and members can achieve faster results and help you too. Also you can delegate some power to open new curation guild like curie or new anti spam community like steemcleaners . ( right now they are a little outdated and dont implement new rules ) With this you can help others and receive some % back

Well I personally would power down half of it and put it into Bitshares, becoming a multi-millonaire a few years from now. But that taken aside :P

It's one of the issues I see with Steemit, a whale with a lot of influence (SP) needs to actively, on a daily basis, and manually, curate posts in order to benefit the Steemit platform as much as possible. This is however pretty much undoable, and why voting bots are so frequently used (well that, and circle jerking of course ^^). There should be a way to delegate your SP while still earning curation rewards, so someone who is willing to invest its time to curate, could potentially take a small cut. Secondly I believe voting should be restored on a weekly basis, having 70 votes a week (intead of 10 a day) which could (if choosen to) be spent all in one day. < This one might bring some complications with it, but it's open to debate.

I know... this doesn't really help you answer your question... xD

power down :)

@cryptoctopus,
I will build a upvote bot and help the community and earn as well! I saw a lot of bots are cheating for others funds, so I will try something honest and earning can be used to build a project or a Token project when SMT hits!

Cheers~

Oh I wish you have more steem power and use it for good causes.

Same, but it would pick random good content (good algo) and drop bombs of upvotes for free

Honesty one very good and important attribute so many will enjoy from that not

Wish you more luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74