How was it like to have your first period?

in #question5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

Wow. My first period, I was in school. It was a sunny afternoon and as I stood up from my seat, I noticed the chair on which I sat on was stained. I was surprised and scared at the same time. I was worried that perhaps I had gotten injured. I was only 13 and didn't understand a thing about periods.

I went to the teacher and requested that I go home on grounds that I was not well and I had just been injured. I cried all the way home to my Mother and told her someone has injured me and I am losing blood that I should be taken to the hospital. She asked where I had been injured, and I said, in my buttocks. She asked to take a look at me in the washroom and laughed so hard on finding out what had happened.

I was surprised, I couldn't imagine my Mother laughing at a serious issue such as that. I mean, I have just been injured and instead of her taking me to the hospital, she was there laughing at me. I cried the more and then, she calmed me down and told me, I had just become a woman. She said there was no need to go to the hospital as the doctors and nurses would laugh at me just as she had done.

She asked me to take a bath and gave me some stuff which I later realized were sanitary pads. She taught me how to wear it on and made me some a hot coffee without sugar. She asked me to rest afterwards and I slept off. When I finally woke up, she told me what it means to have a period and how I should expect it almost every other month.


Sort:  

Lol... African mothers sha, they don't give proper orientation to their female children.

Hahahaha
Don't mind them.
I remember also being told that now that I am a woman, if I sit close to a guy, I'd become pregnant. I was so scared and whenever they ask me to sit close to a guy in the school, I'd cry and opt to stand instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98