Sort:  

For this is the nature of blockchain. Unwavering usernames are a great feature for keeping reputations of legitimate users and sorting out short-timing spammers. It only adds to the integrity of the platform.

There is a way to do this But actually only during the creation process at the beginning. Probably most here are looking on how to change username after account is created which cannot be done. But during the process of validating the account there is actually a way to change it.

When you first choose a user name and you proceed to validate your phone number and confirming he first link you get via email. After you do this you receive a notification saying that thanks for validating your phone and that your new account is under review. After some hours, you get an email saying that your account has been approved and that you need to finish the procees by clicking on a last URL to accept the terms and agree on final time. It is during that last confirmation on the TOS page when you enter the password for the first time when you have your last chance of changing the username. If by mistake you first chose something you dont like, the only way to change it is on this last process page right after agreeing to TOA that the username field is still editable and you erase the first username you shoce and select another one. I just did it on a second account I have.

I just wanted to clarify and share this, thanks Steemit family.

Did not see this option when validating my account.

Me too, didn't see that option

So essentially we’d have to just create a new account w a new username if we are a few weeks in.

Give me one favor sir. please flag 🚩 all of my contents I want them to be less visible on search. Because I couldn't delete it now.

Thank you.

Since you can't modify your name, how many accounts can you have on Steemit?

as many email addresses as you have or can have... upvote and follow me.

HAHAHA best reply ever!

This is not completely correct. Accounts are linked to emails, but when you try to create a second account, it asks for a phone number to send an SMS verification. If that phone has already been used for verification, it cannot be used again. So it seems accounts are tied to email-phone pair...

So essentially if you have one phone you can only have one account?

Basically yeah.

Tip, for creating username in any website or any platform make it 4-6 characters thats is enough to be unique ;-)

Eventually there could be a system similar to twitter .. where the handle can't be changed by the prefix can be .. such as Alice@steemit could become bob@steemit. Skype also does something similar.

Yeah I was wondering if I could only remove some letters..))

We really need this feature to be implemented ASAP. Thanks @ned

Yeah, I didn't realize when signing up (with my real name) that this would become my public username. Now I am wondering whether to ditch and restart from fresh.

Yeah, I was a little ticked-off at YouTube when I started my Steemit account, and it shows in my account name. lol

Same. I tried starting over with a new sign-up; however, it would not let me when I got to the stage of entering my cell phone number, saying that the number was already in use. Haven't read any more current posts yet as to whether or not there is a way around in order to create a username with some anonymity, but would appreciate some guidance if this is now an option. (Thanks in advance for any help!)

I would like this. I think privacy & the ability to change is important.

If comments can be edited—because the edits are on the blockchain—why can't handles?

I'm glad we can change it on our blog page, but the new feature is fairly worthless when the old name shows up next to comments, etc.

Can I change my username or still not able?

You need a new account to do that.. The blockchain does not have this feature.

so my account is part of the blockchain? I hadn't thought about that. So it makes sense that it's probably hard or undo-able to change an existing account's name. Thanks for your answer!

thats sucks. for a service that got pitched as a next generation blogging service, functionality like this should have been available from day 1.

Yeah, especially with a name like yours.

Noticed many people have names they aren't satisfied with. They need to implement this feature to steemit.

Yep! Needs to be upgraded for SO many reasons... and I think a personal privacy ability to block certain users from following us is vital. Basic boundaries and privacy.

LOL, i made a typing mistake on name. How about that :D

I made a big mistake with my name :(

😂😂😂

me too.. warghhhhh...

maybe U are BI 😑

me too 😂😂😂😂

I just changed mine. I went to my blog and then to settings and I edited my username and about me too. It was easy!

I think you are referring to ‘Display Name’ rather than user name. Username is what you see at the top of each posts and when you are commenting.

right there in lies the rub, i want to change my name not the top name

What information about you is stored in the Blockchain?

Anything you input to the blockchain will be stored on it and cannot be deleted. On steemit, this would include everything including your username, posts you create and comments you make. I would like to change my username as well - when I signed up for steemit my account wasn't very well thought out...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78