Indiana Jones!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #quote7 years ago (edited)

Growing up living near my grandparents allowed me the blessing of spending time with them often. Time spent with them often included watching movies on VHS, the most frequently-watched (and my favorite) being the Indiana Jones series. Every time I watched these movies, one quote always stuck out to me:

"It's not the age, it's the mileage"
-Indiana Jones, Raiders of the Lost Ark

Seeing this as something profound, I stored this quote in my arsenal of wisdom. However, it wasn't until I had been in the Army and then got out that this quote really began to mean something to me. What I mean by that is, I may not yet be thirty years of age, but all those years of strenuous exercise--the running, the endless pushups, sit-ups, side straddle hops, Iron Mikes--has made me feel much more worn than I should be. More importantly, I now realize that living a full life is not based on time but on the experiences you've had and on the memories you make.

This quote and what it means to me reminds me of my grandfather who was a pastor of a small Baptist church when I was growing up. It's been four years since he passed, but I still remember his funeral being one of the most powerful funerals I have ever been to. Not only was there a great PowerPoint on all of the places he traveled to, including Israel, but there were also so many stories and testimonies shared about how my grandpa had impacted lives. So much so, that the pastor in charge of the ceremony had to cut them short due to time. All I could think was, "Wow, that's the kind of man I want to be!" He lived life to its fullest in the time he had on earth.

As always, thank you for reading! I would love to hear a favorite quote of yours, whether from Indiana Jones or something else, that has inspired you in some way.

Sort:  

Nice article! I have upvoted your post, can you help me to upvote my post too? Thanks

Thanks and Sure thing, please follow me for more 😀

Congratulations @scorchdojo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @scorchdojo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70840.59
ETH 3807.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42