Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=joanstewart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fathoming-out-fungi


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What's really cool is that mushrooms are the sex organs of mycorrhizal fungi--tiny fungi that have a symbiotic relationship with plants. They grow around and into a plant's roots. Many common plants cannot survive without them, because the fungi break down and supply nutrients that the plants need, but cannot directly extract themselves. Plants also "communicate" through mychorrhizal fungi. A tree that gets attacked by insects will send out a signal that the mycorrhizai transmit to other trees, causing those trees to change in a way that detracts the insects. I had no idea about any of this, until my daughter did a science fair project on it a few years ago.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

That is so interesting, fungi really work quietly all the time.

Makes total sense, we had termites attacking a patch of lawn at the bottom of our garden, some light rain during night (in middle of drought), next morning the whole area was covered with hundreds of tiny fungi, often wondered why. This brings into reasoning what may have happened.

nice shot my friend..

The first mushroom picture looks like a beautiful umbrella ...

It does, love the two tone top it had.

I love the fungi, I don't get very many in my yard but when I find them I share them too. They are so cute.

Feast or famine with fungi in the garden we have some unusual things that seem to trigger them off sometimes.

Nice photos of the little things in nature. You really had to be paying attention to find these little gems. Sorry I can't help with identification. My mushroom knowledge kind of begins and ends with morels, lol.

Only a handful are poisonous, that is enough to not pick for me @blueeyes8960, have a wonderful weekend.

What a cool colour on those orange ones! Very cool finds :) The small ones are always fun to spot.
Happy Fungi Friday :)

These really were a nice colour, everyone in the group I was with never even noticed them, love seeing fungi when out and about.

Thanks for visiting and have a great weekend @ewkaw

What cool shots I cannot help with identifying them but cool to see, those red ones especially

Incredible what you do find when going out on walks, identification is difficult even when zoning into a region.

Yes thats the cool thing about being into photography or observant there is always so much to see if you keep your eyes peeled "_

Beautiful photographs @joanstewart
Nice post my friend..

Thanks for visiting @tussar11

I've never met an edible mushroom I haven't liked and that includes the ones that are barely edible.

Nice to look at, not so sure about eating @abitcoinskeptic

I love shrooms, especially the psychedelic ones.

Wish I could find them could be an extraordinary trip....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62