Happy Granny March, Everybody!

in #qurator5 years ago

msb_05.jpg

Well, trying to translate this will be fun...

They say Granny March has a temper quick to change. She is mostly angry at her younger brothers, Little Setchko (February) and Big Setchko (January) for drinking all the wine and leaving none of it to her. Yup, barrels are empty by the end of February, of course. But some times she remembers they are her brothers after all and feels light of heart and merry instead of cross with them. Her mood often changes and so does weather in March.

Also, the granny is all about health and so are the colors of her banner - white and red.

In Bulgaria, this custom has ever been massively practiced and we would all make or buy the so called martenitsi (plural for martenitsa) - charms we make gifts of. A nice way of showing you care.

And we wear those on our wrists, necks, or blouses, or house doors until Spring comes. Until we see birds returning from the South, that is from across the Mediterranean Sea; or until trees are blooming. And then most people would tie their charms to trees or hide them under stones. Because we want Nature to be healthy, too, you surely understand that.

seasons_spring_ph010.jpg

seasons_spring_ph011.jpg

seasons_spring_ph012.jpg

3_1_3711X2474px.jpg


I have heard such traditions are also spread somewhere around Tibet or the Himalayas in general, and also within our neighboring countries. Perhaps @vonaurolacu, @gabrielatravels or @svemirac can tell us more about this.

3_2_4740x3160px.jpg
Piju...

3_3_4890x3260px.jpg
...and Penda...

apwm_07_s.jpg
...or the other way around.

apwm_13_s.jpg
_I don't know who Piju is and who Penda is anymore. _

m_new.jpg
Ah, there! The guy guy with the trousers should be Piju and the gal with the dress or apron should be Penda.



Well, have you done the above, friends?

Hanging_There_in_White_and_Red_s.jpg
You get the joke.

I think I will start a new series, showing you people's wrists these days and all the trophies there. Yup, time to do it.

This is also an I-hope-not-too-late entry for @qurator's challenge Photo Friday.

Take care, stay healthy and go create the world!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

I have never heard of that Manol. I love this tradition! We should show our nature that we treasure and love her and this is exactly what you do with these bracelets. I like those Piju and Penda too!

I wonder if we have similar traditions at home. My mom is not a traditional type of a person so we never did it but Bulgaria is not that far and I can't imagine that there wouldn't be anything to compare in this :)

I love your photos! But I'm sure you know this :)

Have a great start of the week!

Oh, sure, ask your elders :) Will be nice to know.

Don't know about the other countries but it really is a big tradition in Romania. And I love this day - it's a great way to have a cool spring beginning! :D

Oh, and I have like 3 of these on my wrist right now, haha.

53110529_1165643166947098_3059821155067101184_n.jpg

This is such a charming post, @manoldonchev! 😁

I couldn’t help making a pun. But seriously, this is so interesting. I love learning about the traditions in other cultures. I was not familiar with this one. Happy March!

Thanks, I thought so. I mean, I thought maybe there will be a lot of people who haven't heard of it... yet. I am going to gather photos now whole month long. And show you some of those from time to time.

Hope that March is a great month!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Честита Баба Марта 😀

What a nice tradition! Looks like March has a much friendlier face over there as well, compared to here in Germany :-)

Well, those photos are late March. I plan on going in the Wild tomorrow and bring fresh reports on how the forest looks like right now. Not green yet. Probably not blooming, either. But soon...

I see... thought these were current and was already getting a bit envious :-)

What a charming tradition ! Granny March :D I love it ! Tying up charms on wrists or trees, or at a place of importance to us, has that very old-folksy charm to it, I think....

We don't see these kinds of traditions surviving in to the modern Aussie lifestyle, unfortunately ! But it's lovely to see it still alive in your parts of the world, Manol :D

Well, we don't have naked people painting their bodies. Or do we?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Whoooaaa.. never known about this awesome tradition @manoldonchef 😉 looks like a lot of fun to see such a charming charms all over the place and optimistic faces till the spring comes. Thank you for sharing... anyway, will it be a parade or carnival too?

What a lovely tradition!
We have nothing like that here in Canada.
The main thing where I live is when we start to get springish weather people get out and about again, going for walks, working in their yards and everyone has a friendly greeting and ask questions like "how did you fare the winter?"
This February we had the longest lasting extreme cold weather in 80 years and people are so ready for a break and to get some of that springish weather! Weather forecast for next week is to reach freezing or a little above - Hallelujah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95