Sinemorets Again and Again

in #qurator5 years ago

Greetings, friends!

Have you seen my scarecrow project? Or photos on my blog of the the rocks we call The Ships? Landscapes of Veleka River where it meets the sea and the long stretch of sand going between them for a few hundred meters? Poppies growing on the sand? Gluttonous gulls or their growing young chicks?

They are all from Sinemorets, Bulgaria, a place I organize photo workshops at almost every summer. There's a lot more to it and I am going to show you other sights, most of them for the first time.

SW2016_ph002_s.jpg

So this is the rock phenomena, the Sunken Ships. They live up to their name, don't they? A place with a lot of potential when it comes to long exposure or other landscape photography. Also dangerous to reach. Usually cold in the morning.

But I haven't grown tired of returning there and making other photos sunrise after sunrise, year after year...

SW2016_ph001_s.jpg

Sinem_2016_Ko_s.jpg

And I'm usually not alone. Well, maybe sometimes.

04_06_2015_ph002_s.jpg

04_06_2015_ph003_s.jpg

The spots to shoot from and the angles to look at the scenery from are pretty much infinite. Or at least it feels this way. Not enough summers to try them all.

05_06_2015_ph003_s.jpg

05_06_2015_ph003a_s.jpg

G_Mi_2_s.jpg


This year I had a lot of people with me and I left them do what I usually do while me...I went for an early morning swim.

Korabite_W_ph002_s.jpg

Waving back at them and then taking to explore some areas I haven't approached in quite the same way before. I always thought it would be too cold because our hands and cheeks are usually freezing in the morning. The sleep before a morning sunrise is usually short...and so one feels quite...not vigorous. I was pleasantly surprised by the warm water that had collected the warmth of three months of summer before taking me in.

Korabite_W_ph007_s.jpg

Korabite_W_ph003_s.jpg

Korabite_W_ph001_s.jpg

Sm_UW_n01_s.jpg

But this is just one place and there are so many others. Some of them great backgrounds for various shootings with people.

Swrkshp_2016_K_portraits_ph012_s.jpg

The Iron bridge above Veleka river.

Sm_n01_s.jpg

Scarecrow_S2_ph001_s.jpg

04_06_2015_ph016_s.jpg

04_06_2015_ph011_s.jpg

The waters of Veleka river where it reaches the Black Sea - not that easy to see through. Not great taste, also. Trust me on that one and don't lick it unless you absolutely have to.

The beach between sweet and salty waters has not been ground to fine sand yet. There's sand, alright, but closely inspected it looks more like diminutive stones and shells. It's quite rough on the soles, especially when it's hot. Feet hurt for days. Also, I have a circular polarizing filter lost somewhere around there, I think. I bet some guy like this one took it for nest material or something.

04_06_2015_ph008_s.jpg

Poppies growing in May and June on the same beach. I like poppies. I rarely see poppies growing on sand. Actually, I don't see poppies growing on sand anywhere else. So I am fond of this place for one more reason. And because of other growth on beach or rocks.

04_06_2015_ph007a_s.jpg

Sinem_027.jpg

Sinem_030.jpg

Silistar_Path_ph003_s.jpg

04_06_2015_ph004_s.jpg

South from there, more than three small bays away...

10_Oct.jpg

Lipite_2018_ph001_crop_TS_light.jpg

This is a wild beach (its name translated as The Lindens) on a path going along the coast through a protected area. Where some volcanic stuff once made some funny shapes. They catch the sunset quite nicely.

Lipite_2018_ph001_crop_TS_light.jpg

Swa_ph001_s.jpg

Swa_ph004_s.jpg


Far from over. We'll see each other again, Sinemorets and I. And I have other details to show you. Soon.

This has been my @qurator weekly PhotoFriday

Enjoy!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=manoldonchev
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sinemorets-again-and-again


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

So many amazing pics!

Wow, these photos are awesome. Great location too... I'll be in southern Serbia this summer and plan to go to Montenegro from there... maybe I should consider Bulgaria instead ;-)

I've heard Montenegro is beautiful. And I should tell you that photos do lie. We pick only what looks cool and avoid... you know...

Haha... we all do ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #459.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you manoldonchev! You've just received an upvote of 15% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

WOW this is an amazing post, Manol ! I love how beautiful the place is and how personal it seems to be within your yearly adorations <3 I love how you presented its history with you and also its many faces, the rocks, the waters, the birds, the bridge, the way people 'inhabits' its various forms in their visits and photography :D

Gorgeous, gorgeous post <3

I am left with a smile now that I have come across this post * ___ *

Hoard that smile because next one will be cruel reality...or not...we shall see...

Thank you for your support and friendship!

What a beautiful photo collection :D. You are really good capturing both landscape and people aesthetically.

Thank you! So I might have registered an account like "allthingscaptured" to go with my colleagues Light and World ;)

Love your photography! What a wonderful spot for capturing some awesome beauty!
It inspires me to try different shots from all different angles see the way you can get totally different pictures which each new angle.
Thanks for sharing!

Yeah. there was some quote about bringing 100 photographers to a scene and getting 100 different results. Should be like that in theory ;) It's another thing entirely if those 100 results would feel different and give you different impressions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97