#Tasty-Tuesday - Brown beans

in #qurator5 years ago

We try to stay healthy, which is hard if you live in poverty.

We have a lack of fruit and vegetables in our country which we can eat and afford.
If it comes to what our country is producing itself it is basicly: cabbage, carrots and potatoes.
Next to it there are beans. White beans and brown beans. In a pot or can they are not cheap. The cheapest I bought in a pot.

If you hardly eat meat you need to eat beans.

They are healthy. There was a time most people ate it. They say it is also a way to prevent cancer.

As I was a kid there was a Tv series about a boy called "Bartje". The family was very poor, ate brown beans and Bartje refused to eat them. He always said: "Bartje does not pray for brown beans".
Already as a kid I did not understand why. I love them and so do my kids.
Frequently we eat them just so (even cold I like them) or with some applesauce.

This time I bought minced meat (meatloaf).

I fried it, added garlic and paprika and some ketchup and the beans.
If you like you can add onion and red pepper too, but I had none so did it without it.
We ate it just so, but you can also eat it with rice, mashed potatoes, some salad, bread, etc.

For dessert we had yoghurt with some strawberries.
A dessert is no longer common. Usually it is the second meal.

The strawberries were expensive, must be imported, like most fruit is (imported and expensive). Only during summer you find strawberries here, just like cherries.
Apples and pears are our fruit. Even the plums are getting rare.

The pictures are made by me with my smartphone Samsung J5.

If you like to join the #tastytuesday contest too have a look at @qurator!.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16