[Quick Word of Advice] Take 15 Minutes to Learn About ConcussionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #qwoa7 years ago (edited)

If you've not looked into brain concussion, I recommend spending about 15 minutes watching YouTube videos about them. I had always heard about concussions, probably learned what it meant in school at some point, vomited it out on the test, and forgotten most of it, so until recently, all I really knew about a concussion is that it's this bad brain trauma thing that seems serious, but not too serious, and that was about it.

Then I got one.
Except, the CAT scan said I was fine (and this is normal! But I didn't know that), so I didn't think anything of it. When I started experiencing the symptoms without having any idea what it was, however, it was quite scary. So, if you're like me and never learned about them, take five to fifteen minutes to watch a YouTube video or two on what concussions are. If you ever get one, you'll be glad you did.

This post is the first in the #qwoa tag, which stands for Quick Word of Advice. I think it would be cool if, in the random lessons and mistakes we all make while living our lives, we made quick little posts like this about things we think others might find valuable. I will try to remember to do this going forward :-D
Sort:  

There is no question about this; any hit, concussion, bang or else to your cranial area has to be looked by a med asap. The repercussions of blows to your head might not show in the immediate term. Still on the long run, they will show their true nature; unfortunately and as in most of the time, fatal.

Yeah, and concussions, or MTBI (mild traumatic brain injury), are particularly nasty because they might not show up on the CAT scans, so no one knows there's going to be an issue, until somewhat later (days easily, sometimes longer) when the symptoms hit. And the experience is probably much worse if, like me, you didn't see it coming and do at least some basic preparations and setting of expectations.

@modprobe That sound interresting to know. I will look into it.

Heal up well @modprobe Take it easy!

Thank God I never experienced it but it is very sad to hear you faced it. Doing meditation daily will remove all problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69081.27
ETH 3757.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68