The First Purge - Some tokens...

in #racial6 years ago (edited)

I just saw "The First Purge", I was excited to see it and I think it's a cool movie...

But...

Did we need this racial division?!

I must say I'm a big fan of this franchise. And this entry had the potential to be my favorite.

But I must the racial theme of the film, did not landed very well with me.

I wish it was a bit more gray than the black and white that it is. I mean it's blatantly saying that white people are all evil.

There is a part when a guy takes the mask off and we have a long close shot of the only white (and blue-eyed blonde) person in the movie so far... I mean... they hold the close up shot on this guy who is not a character. This type of shots are used to reveal something, in this case, there is nothing to reveal since the guy just appears for a few seconds in the film with no dialog... (basically an extra) So why the close up of this white guy like it was a reveal of something?

In this polarizing society we have at the moment I think this racial posture is only helping us to be more divided and hateful.

Plus on a pure narrative perspective, if it was a bit grayer it would have been more interesting, clever and realistic...

They took this incredible concept and officially made it about white people inventing the purge to kill black people... (And some Chicanos)

As I said, I'm a fan and I think this idea still has a lot of juice to be explored... but was disappointed with the black and white, infantile view and statement.

Thank you for reading.

Pictures are from pixabay.com

What do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65