Toronto Indy 2018

in #racing6 years ago


New Toronto Indy, well, at least new to me.

I used to go to Molson Indy in the good old days, and by good old days, I mean the 80's and 90's. What was so good about it, you say. Well, advertising was less connived, unlike today, we pretend that only "good" companies can advertise, when back in a day, every evil corporation was allowed to have a fair share of access to our brains and opportunity to persuade us to buy their poison or crap. I grew up in a heyday of motor sports and maybe it's just me, but there is something special about open wheel race cars all plastered with cigarette advertisements. Alan Prost (my favorite) was Camel yellow, Damon Hill was Rothmans blue, Michael Schumacher was the iconic red and white Marlboro, at least that was the lineup in my days. And so was the Indy racing, Paul Tracy in Player's blue and so on. I know, I'm probably taking it little bit too far, after all the cars still look cool in all other sponsorship colours, but hey, that's just me. The point that I'm trying to make, is, that the racing these days doesn't have the same feel, maybe there is too much safety, (which don't get me started on that one :), too many rules, or maybe I'm just getting too old. Even the venue setup seams all wrong too me, there used to be a great grandstand at corner 2 where you could watch these guys accelerate through 3-4 gears right in front of you and then see them disappear into the Thunder Alley with an incredible speed, now that's gone. your only option is watch them crash at turn 3 or see them snake through the multiple turns with not much acceleration due to the rough road conditions, all from the main grandstands all congested in one area. Oh, and guess what, no grandstands in front of the Start/Finish line. This whole new setup goes along with everything else I've been observing in this new world of Millennial's, totally illogical, incompetent and amateurish-like. Ok, that's enough of bashing :) My overall experience was positive, I would still recommend for anyone to go see these top drivers doing incredible things in some of the most sophisticated machines ever built, if only once. My next trip - Montreal Grand Prix 2019

P.S. If you feel like leaving comments like "Prost spent most of his career in red and white" or "Millennial's are only 18 at the most now, so they don't have anything to do with organization of racing events", don't need to bother (but you can, if you want). This is just my little diatribe, not an essay :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60