What I’ve learned from my 1st official Raffle Giveaway.

in #raffle5 years ago

What I’ve learned from my 1st official Raffle Giveaway.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

As with most of you who diligently continue to follow me and my work, you have probably noticed that I just recently finished my 1st official Raffle Giveaway.

I remember attempting to flesh out everything I had to do to make it happen successfully several weeks before I even took action. I admit that all of this was very new to me.

And of course with learning anything new, that no matter how much you attempt to study and prepare you’ll inevitably drop the ball on a few things. Regardless of that being all too common, I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

”Looking back I am confident in that it was a success!”


I’m not going to lie though. It was incredibly time consuming. But despite the learning curve it was a very enjoyable and educational experience for me.

While initially I thought that how I was structuring my plans for the raffle to be inefficient, I then came to the conclusion that like with all kinds of learning curves, it’s never a waste of time as long as you’re continually moving forward.

”Things just always take longer than they appear.”


Even with my own painting practice I continue to battle with this thought. It’s a persistent bad habit where a part of myself continues to think and behave as if it weren’t true, despite the amount of reason that would dispel the idea.

The way I saw it, I thought it would be a great opportunity to test drive some things I’ve learned about business and marketing strategies.

When planning the raffle out, it really opened my eyes on how I can begin implementing what I do with all the various social media platforms I use.

I found that giving myself permission to think bigger, to act slower and methodical on a much larger time frame provided an invigorating sense of freedom and clarity. With this greater sense of focus I could then work towards my goals with a much stronger impact.

”Delegation and batching tasks together was definitely key here.”


In realizing I had these new found tools at my disposal I thought it to be empowering and very exciting.

Working on this project for a whole week I also thought to be informative in that I was able to learn more about those who appreciate the paintings I create and more specifically about the different qualities of my work they appreciate the most.

Essentially crowdsourcing on this kind of information I was grateful for because not only did it allow for a better connection to my fans and clients but provided ample fuel to apply towards my future drawing and paintings.



Rose Study
9” x 12”
Oil on birch panel
2019


On the last day of the raffle when I was drawing the names of all those that signed up, I was happy to see that my good friend and fellow highly skilled painter @esotericart won the contest.

He has always been a great supporter with my goals and path as a painter and has always been readily available whenever I’ve needed advice. I’m content to know that he will be able to enjoy the painting for years to come :)


(Here I wasted no time at all and boxed up the painting ready to be shipped out to my new collector.)


Again, I really enjoyed working on this self motivating project. Because of this, I can see plenty of other doors to other opportunities.

I am really looking forward to creating my next raffle in the near future :)


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Click here to subscribe to my artist’s newsletter

Patreon

Ebay

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Hello @jameszenartist, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97