You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weeding at the Library

in #ramblewrite5 years ago

What a unique perspective you have on the literary world: what are people reading when the only barrier to entry is a library card and some free time?

I imagine you've got to make room for a butt-load of dystopian YA fictoin and Hunger Hames knockoffs.

Boston completed a major overhaul of their library a few years ago. I wrote about it here. It was amazing to see how many fewer books were there after the change. But the library had a lot more people in it, and I guess that's the important thing.

I'd like to hope there might be some Georges Simenon Maigret novels left alongside the Doyle and Christie. Maybe I ought to head over to the library and check out a couple copies if they're still there.

Sort:  

Dystopian and paranormal romance have become a blight on literature.

I think that reflects the sentiments of the overall society these days.

I have to say, this piece was an excellent read.

Thanks! It's a shame we have so many spammers and plagiarists here nowadays trying to get rich quick through unethical behavior. I think the attitude we see as we flag abuse here on Steemit is a far worse reflection on society than the changes in literary taste in the library.

Yes, it is somewhat concerning that people are willing to do what they do the moment "rules" are out the window.

There will always be people who want to break the rules. I still prefer decentralized systems though, because central rulemakers invariably become abusive. Grassroots moderation here on Steemit has problems, but I do what I can to raise awareness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88