#random Games Week 5 - Quilling : Mandala attempt ...

in #randomgames6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I said I was trying to make a mandala for @kristyglas's #randomgames - Week 5 - Quilling contest. I have already made an entry but I wanted to try to also make a mandala as challenge to myself.

Below you can see part of it. As with my entry I used a mini shredder to make the paper strips and a toothpick to wind/coil the paper.

The yellow and red strips were nice and thick to work with, but the dotted paper strips were much thinner and flimsy as the paper was from used envelopes.

It was quite hard for me to make a mandala because I am really aware that I need to keep balance and symmetry within the overall shape, but it didn't quite work out due to my lack of skills 😌

As everything craft related, I am a strong believer in the practice makes perfect saying. So I will persevere and will try to work out a way to make the shapes roughly the same to add more elements to my 'creation'. Today I will be trying 'drawing' the shape size roughly.

Below's the overall view so far.

I haven't yet glued the ends of the strips because I was testing for size. I shall continue until I achieve a more pleasing shape and will report on my 'progress'.

Thank you again to @kristyglas for organising this fab activity and to @ivan-g for alerting me to it.



All photos and work by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

Hi Cryptocariad, one of the competitions I follow because I like the entries is the zen colouring in competition. https://steemit.com/zencolouringcontest/@magiccleatus/zen-colouring-contest-21-a-chance-to-win-sbd-by-colouring-a-weekly-pattern
The pattern for this week would make a lovely mandala if you wanted a project to work towards.

Thank you @gmatthe2. I will investigate it that now... 😊

Oh. I love this @cryptocariad. it looks great to me.

If it was cooler I might even be tempted to have a go myself. Something for the colder days I think.

I'm looking forward to following your progress. 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce... It certainly requires quiet time and contemplative mood... none of which I tend to have... 😁

Ha. ha, ha. And there was I picturing you easily sitting quietly and peacefully lost in your quilling @cryptocariad. 😂

Oops! Here I am again altough I follow only the We Curate links. This is turning out really interesting. :)


You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

Thank you @worksinsane. I really appreciate your support and visits to my blog... 😊

You did it @cryptocariad!! I like the paper and color combination. It is really fun isn't it to squeeze here and there and see how the paper turns out :)

It is fun @marblely... I need to loosen up a little bit ... I'm at the beginning stage 😆

Yay! You won @cryptocariad!! Congratsss! :) Hehe.. ya, it is a little daunting to press those papers.. Maybe you can try with old magazines first, that way, if you do not like how it turns out after you squeeze the edges here and there, you can just recycle them.

Thank you @marblely... oh, yes I will keep practising to make a wider variety of shapes - it's been truly inspiring to take part 😊

Wao! Siempre he admirado esta técnica, me parece laboriosa, precisa y produce unos resultados hermosos, como el que nos has traído hoy, me gusta la combinación de colores. Que bonito puedes hacerlo y veo estás desmostando habilidades. Sigue adelante, estaré atenta de los avances. Yo creo que no tengo la paciencia para esta técnica. Saludos.

Yo tampoco tengo tanta paciencia @jicrochet 😆 Tiendo a enroscar el papel de a poco y de pie... no alcanzo a sentarme por falta de tiempo...

Nice work, the color combination is hypnotizing <3

Thank you @ivan-g... I normally choose more subtle colours (ideally purple), but that thicker paper was really nice to work with 😊

The a-symmetry inside symmetry , creates art too . Good luck !

Thank you, @giosou 😁 !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34