#randomgames - Week 5 - Quilling contest - my entry

in #randomgames6 years ago (edited)

After reading @ivan-g's post on quilling the other day, I visited @kristyglas's Random Games Week 5- Quilling. I enjoyed reading both posts as they are so inspirational and have motivated me to revisit origami and now try more quilling.

In the past I've only done a few little hearts to adorn greetings cards and paper beads when I worked out how to make them, but I decided it was time to try again. Paper beads are so fun to make too... This whole thing has inspired me to make some more.

Any paper related activity like this can easily be done with younger members of a family and also use scraps of paper left from envelopes or assignments. It's a great way to recycle.

Below's my entry.

To cut the strips of paper I used a mini shredder. I found that very thin paper was rather harder to use so I used scraps of thicker paper and leaflets.

I used a toothpick to wind the paper around tightly and a minute drop of PVA to keep it all in the shape I needed.

The picture above shows my work trying to come up with a 'setting' and before I came up with the bird.

I started with the hearts because I knew what I was doing and attempted to teach @jen0revision, but she was a bit abstract and totally digressed from the shape ... I am hoping she will be able to post her beautiful creation though.

I then started on the cheese slice making circles and surrounded the shapes to give it some definition. I had never attempted this and it was very hard...

... and after...

I liked the fact that the finished pieces are actually free standing. I like the 'sculpture' feel of it and would have like more shadow to play a bit more. I will keep on experimenting with that and pieces of sweet wrappers.

As you can see the face of the mouse is really a 'crooked' heart.

I meant to make an owl, but it was a 'lucky' misshape... I kept trying to make the owl and definitely need practice.

I am very pleased with the little bird carrying the heart though... another happy accident.

Thank you so much again to @kristyglas for organising this activity and thanks also to @ivan-g for always having paper related activities. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot.


All photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

That's so cool! Great work! 😍

Thank you @phoenixwren ... It was great fun to make and to make use of the happy accidents ... 😃

Aww :3 It's all so adorable!!! I really love the heart shaped mouse ^-^
It's really cool how you made the cheese quil stand on it's own like a sculpture. Probably because you used a bit thicker paper. I've tried making a sculpture, but it was an unstable mess xD
Awesome work! Thank you for joining the contest :D

Thank you so much for your comments @kristyglas... I also started on a mandala and just need to glue a few bits and pieces to start giving it shape... It's fine once you get into the rhythm...
As you say slightly thicker paper gives it more stability 😊

Awesome! I'm looking forward to it :D

And here I am again!! :) I love the bird. The heart too, but the bird: you nailed it!


You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

P.S.
I have question for you about the next tags to use: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/question-about-the-next-tags

Thank you very much for visiting the blog @worksinsane ! I will be reading your intro post and the message regarding the question tags... It takes me a while to come up with a 'proper' answer 😂

Really cute, nice idea with the hearts :)

Thank you @ivan-g 😊

What a great idea, to use a mini shredder @cryptocarid and create your own papers. I picked up a quilling kit at the market once but never got around to using it. There were some circles already done and I've used a few of them on greetings cards but that's about it.

The little hearts are cute. I might have a go at those some time. 😊

That's a very good find @gillianpearce. I'm interested to see your creations 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14