Truth Talks, Refocusing, Power Up’s and Big Mugs

in #randomthoughts5 years ago (edited)



Full disclosure- This is some weird, too honest style blog that for some reason I felt the need to write. Feel free to skip to that super positive “Power Up” part further down, as the first part is ramblings... you’ve been warned.

I’ve been struggling with Steem lately, and no it has nothing to do with the price.

I’ve been struggling with finding my place, to stop giving too much to those who will never stop taking, to stop saying yes to “volunteer” (after being asked) for many essentially full time jobs here, to quit focusing on the wrong things - which always leads to disappointment for me.

I’ve been struggling with by inability to not jump full force into every single thing, and my horrid personality flaw where I have this inability to walk away... no matter if all the signs say I should.

This has led to some serious frustration, to me probably being overly blunt, annoyed and taking some things too personally. I get emotionally attached to things, and to people, and I think that means that everything is personal to me. Which sometimes can be positive and other times not so much.

As lately I’ve been feeling like I am constantly having to push back, constantly having to defend myself, or deal with just such damn nonsense that I don’t know why the hell I am even here anymore.

For awhile now I’ve been barely holding on... just convincing myself every single day not to quit. And I don’t even mean cash out.. as cashing out right now is just silly. I mean walk away entirely and let my STEEM just sit until the next bull run.

Just hope everyone figures out their issues here, stops fighting, and actually makes a plan to work forward and focus on longevity of Steem itself.. not their short term gains. You know, like a vision and an organized effort to implement the shit that needs to be done. As god knows I can’t seem to make any leeway on it.

Refocusing

The problem is I’ve been doing Steem all wrong - and if I don’t start having some fun and ignore the bs, I won’t get out alive.

Someone told me a few months ago that if I don’t rage at least once, I’m not a true steemian.. so I guess the feeling is pretty common. I guess that’s what happens when you put your whole self and fully commit to something, sometimes you just break.

I’m a fixer by nature.. and it’s just extremely frustrating to me to not be able to fix things.. I can’t sit by and not attempt to fix all the things.

But I’ve realized that’s not my place.

So going forward I will be refocusing on only the things I can control, and the projects that I’m actually directly involved in... and not just helping everyone with all the projects.

I think this will result in a more positive impact overall, as well as me just being a nicer person 😄 as spreading myself too thin isn’t doing anyone a favor.

I’ll also be attempting to get back into the habit of enjoying this platform and interacting... which means I am also taking a break from discord. As it has become a place where my time is sucked trying to help with many things, answer for things I have no control over, etc.. and it pulls me away from the platform itself.

I’m not saying all this to complain or whatnot.. I’m just trying to be honest. I’m sharing my thoughts as I think many are struggling with the same things lately, and I always have felt it’s beneficial to hear.. you’re not alone.

... and big mugs, as everyone needs a big mug.

Power Up’s - AKA, My recommitment to Steem

I have been pretty committed to Steem long term since I joined the platform over a year and a half ago. My goal was power up all earnings (including non content ones), grow my account, and work towards the vision that I had for Steem.

To me Steem isn’t about a quick profit, it’s about being part owner in a technology that I believe has the potential to change the world.



That’s always been my belief, and after some bumps I’m getting back on track to grow my account to help accomplish that vision.

So after moving around some of my holdings and transferring to my new account, I’m about 40 STEEM away from reaching dolphin status again.

I also am doing some conversions of SBD and by end of week should be sitting at a little over 10K STEEM in all, which is a pretty big accomplishment to me.

82E16043-A977-4486-B4EB-7AA7B1F4BAC5.jpeg

CDB84CCB-360C-47A6-8961-722E9E645274.jpeg

I’ll be using this stake to support contributions I feel add value, manually curating, and using it to actually start growing my account as well... which is kind of new for me.

I will be holding some liquid as there are some projects on the Steem horizon that I may want to invest in, including a new game that I am super excited about. 🙌🏼

So this is me recommitting to Steem.. but the #newsteem Justine... #newstine? I’m powering up, will work on growing my account while also supporting others.. I will put my Steem Cheerleader hat back on and do what I can to help spread the good news of Steem. Continuing with my recent goal to share more and enjoy this place, while not getting sucked into too much stuff behind the scenes.



I’m not sure what this post is... I guess it’s me saying -

I get it’s been tough, I feel it too... but I’m not giving up, and I hope neither are you.

Love poem? 🤔


D48803AE-C955-4810-A5AC-F268FF6A81F9.jpeg
F32A90B3-2B4E-41BD-82C3-D1A6D77F3AE1.jpeg

So let’s get this fatty back in the ocean...

And have some fun! 😎

Oh and if you aren’t in the new Steem telegram group, you should be - https://t.me/... we have gifs there.


Much Love and Steem On,

Justine

Sort:  

weeeeeeee
justineh.png

picks jaw up off of ground

Oh my god... I literally am speechless, and I don’t think that’s ever happened before.

My first reaction is to ask if you have been drinking or somehow meant to send it to someone else.. but I will go with

Thank You SOOOOO much!!! ❤️💞🤗

I don’t know what else to say... I’ll message you to ensure I know how you would like me to use this amazing gift and I hope that includes supporting amazing contributions to this crazy place we call home.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Oh it's the crypto Dick.... Go suck a pair of nuts you fag

To sustain you have got to do what you want!
there is no other way to it, not only here in here.
hopefully you'll find the peace and balance you are looking for. :)

I've been here nearly three years and invested all of about five minutes into Discord, just to get an account setup that I decided I'd probably never use.

Any internet time I have, I spend it here, working on my blog, maintaining my connections with people who invest their time in me.

I'm down to about one explosion under a blog post per week. I gave someone shit for spamming my wallet last week. I gave another guy shit for downvoting people on my blog and making mess of my comment section, this week. That's pretty damn good considering I'm not usually that good at putting up with bullshit.

For nearly three years, I've mainly focused on my own thing. Rarely am I seen outside of this place. How I managed to find some measure of success sticking to myself so much baffles me, but it's been working.

If I want to rant, I rant. Some people like my rants. When I need a break, I take a break; nobody seems to mind.

It's really easy to get distracted by that 10% that goes wrong in life. It makes that 90% of what's good nearly invisible. There are a lot of things I'd like to be able to control here, because I know if I had my way, some things could be better. Nothing will ever be perfect though. If I was in charge, I'd make mistakes. We're just a bunch of fuck ups in our own little way and I don't exclude myself from that group, I can blend right in and just roll with it. I can also ramble on under any post I feel like rambling under. Yup.

Yes and I actually admire those that can just steer clear. I can’t completely as my whole curation group is based out of discord and from day one of being here I was involved in some sort of project that worked from discord.. so sadly it’s taken much of my time from the beginning.

But there is no reason why I can’t limit it to those things, actually politely tell people no when asked to help with everything and just ignore or block those who are just downright mean and feel the need to message me constantly to tell me all the things I do wrong.. I don’t really think I need that in my life 😂

I would much rather focus on my own projects, my own blog and engage and interact on the platform, while using discord as a needed tool to run some of those projects for now. So that’s the new goal..

I also love your ranting posts and used to love my own rant posts as well, they are so therapeutic. Somewhere along the way though I let others’ words about how I would never be taken seriously as I was “too controversial”, “call out important people too much”, “don’t play by the rules”’ and all those things held me back. I think I’m finally realizing that those people just were trying to control me for their best interest, and not my own. There is something freeing about realizing you are on your own... Takes a lot of the pressure off.

We're just a bunch of fuck ups in our own little way and I don't exclude myself from that group

Me too 🙂 and quite frankly I like our little group of fuck ups... I think I’m just going to embrace that again and focus on being me.

Thanks for being you ❤️

Just do you and only go as far as two feet and your heartbeat can take you. That's still enough to go to the places you want to be and probably even further.

Don't let this place turn your hair gray; don't lose your smile.

They cannot have my smile or my cake.. that is where I draw the line.

Thank you for being kind, and funny, and well for making David look funny... he really needs the help.

The line.png

David looks funny. Yes.

That is a pretty nice line. Simple, straight to the point (even if it’s not straight itself), and bright red so no one can miss it.

Well done sir.

And yes he does look funny.. it’s the best he can do after all.. as he’s jokes are horrid.

wonder how long it will take him to find this...

You think it's nice? Been drinking? I was trying my best to make that look hideous. I guess I'll have to try harder next time.

As for The David, well, it'll take him a few days but I know he likes tigors so this should cheer him up when he finally figures out how to open the door to the bathroom or whatever he's doing.

tiger.jpeg

Well I mean, I was trying to be nice. Truth is my goat could draw a better line than that... I just didn’t want to hurt your feelings 😜

I love tigors!

...as he’s jokes are horrid.

Not as horrid as your English!

By the way...

How many tickles does it take to make an octopus laugh?

My English is da best English dude.. don’t be jelly.

Oh.. and how many tickles?

Which projects are you going to lend the SP to?

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m not sure. I delegate a small amount from my LLFarms account to the c-squared/c-cubed curation group, which I a no profit manual curation group I co-founded and run and have delegated to multiple different projects in the past. I’m a pretty big believer in supporting and encouraging authors and try to do so the best I can.

There are a few things coming out that I would like to support but I’m not sure if delegation is the way to do that, or supporting directly. Something I’ll have to consider for sure.

@Justdowhatyouwantineh

As I have told you many times, don't get stuck in the BS, have some fun, play, joke and it isn't so serious.

I feel that there is never a good time because everyone else is raging so often there is no space for me When is my rage moment? ;D

I know, yes you have... but I just don’t listen to reason 😂

It’s hard to step back when you’ve been so involved in the beginning.. I’m working on it.. 😉

I thought you raged all the time? You just do it in such an eloquent way that no one knows you’re doing it. Dumb it down for us a bit so we can enjoy your raging too. sheesh.. selfish much?

Miss your face 😘

I so get your point about giving too much and not knowing when to walk away. I do that, too. Big time. And I don't know, I don't want to think of it as a fault, even though it ends up hurting us a lot. I don't think it's a bad thing to give... I think it's a bad thing taking to heart when people don't know how to accept that and give back :)

Glad you're slowly finding your way, J <3 You really are awesome, hope you know that and you don't let whatever BS is upsetting you affect that.

I think it makes us pretty strong and able to give a lot to those we care about, but as you said.. it can become a negative at some point. It’s just about finding balance ❤️

Thank you, I really appreciate that and the constant love and support you show me. I think I take things too personally.. this is my home and this is my “family”... so when some things happen I think I take it harder than I should.. just something I need to work on. Self growth is an ongoing struggle 🙂

Thanks for being a kickass human being ❤️

One thing is for certain...That mug has seen some serious use. I see that chip on the base of it, a clear indication of the trials and tribulations of being a mug belonging to @justineh #bigmugsmatter

So, just on the discord thing. I never really did it. The time difference in Aus, the rest of the world being slow and all, made it difficult and besides I couldn’t be bothered. I recall back in 1997 when Yahoo Chat came out which was a basic linear chat room. I was 27 and thought it was shit. When I saw discord I was amazed that in 20 years nothing had changed. So, considering it’s shit I decided not to bother other than sending a few messages directly to a user or two. I get the occasional message telling me my posts are shit, guns are shit, or from some keyboard warrior who thinks they know something about guns because they saw it on a video game, which I ignore mainly.

I never really understood why a person would want a presence on steem but spend all their time on discord however I had an epiphany one day. Steem is where the circle-jerk set up on discord pays off. Elementary.

So, that’s about it from this old-boy.

Full disclosure: If there was an award for best thumbs-comfy-T-shirt-combo you’d win it. Legit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Only you would notice a chip that size 😂 Stop judging my mug!!!

Yes I agree, it’s just it’s a needed tool for some things and also a way I can demand nudes from people without getting in trouble like I would on chain 😉

I did actually vow to take a few days off entirely and then realized I run a curation group and I sort of have to be there to run it ... so yeah 😂 but I have ignored a few trolls... still can seem to get completely over letting some trigger me though... maybe I need a day of target practice to let out some frustration..

One day at a time!

Your mug is legit. That you use it despite the chip shows strength of character and your easy-going nature - The fact you're cool with imperfection. Something like that anyway.

trigger

You had me at "trigger"...and backed it up with

need a day of target practice to let out some frustration.

It's a legit way to release tension and stress.

Anyway, thanks for answering, I thought you forgot me for a moment there. That't the thing I guess, you're so flat out running the thing you don't really get time for yourself, to just blog and hang out and stuff like many others. Must be hard and yet, you make it all work.

Let me know when you want to go shooting, I'll clear a day.

Nah.. I don’t run the things.. I’m just slow some days 🙂 and YUUUSSSS!!!! Let’s go shooting!!

Anytime. 🔫 (Not bloody green water pistols though!) 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

The problem is I’ve been doing Steem all wrong - and if I don’t start having some fun and ignore the bs, I won’t get out alive.

GOOD PLAN!

I think so too 😁

Good plan. I have to refocus myself once in a while too.

I often feel bad about how much discord distracts me from Steem.

I think discord is great and helps build relationships as well as many other things. I mean, my whole entire curation group relies on it completely.. so there is no avoiding.. but lately it’s been causing some negativity and I need to take a break from those aspects.

Thanks for the ongoing new Steem encouragement 🤗

some days are easier than others. Today was a rough one for me. newsteem sometimes looks like old steem.

Yes.. that old steem is a bitch to get rid of. Some days are going well and then a committee pops up and makes you scratch your head in confusion and old steem is all you can see.

But you know... focus on the good 😉 and chant repeatedly...

I also am doing some conversations of SBD

You mean, conversions?

Haha! Why yes I did! As I wasn’t talking to my SBDs... maybe I’ll try that later.

Thank you! I should really start proofreading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69420.53
ETH 3671.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23