Random thoughts: Jack of all trades, master of none

Since young, my mother has always said that I'm a "Jack of all trades, master of none"... I never really understood why.
When I came out to work, I finally realized why. I am constantly curious about things, almost everything, maybe not so much to do with numbers (so no math, physics, and finances). My concentration span is very short, maybe enough to kill my curiosity to move on to something else. I finished my electrical engineering degree in 4 years to realized I didn't want anything to do with it, so I worked as in fields of administration, operations, training, customer service, sales, marketing and ended up not really knowing what I wanted, so much for a career.

I have long since dropped the notions of having a fancy career. I was not made for the corporate ladder, I didn't want to be part of the rat race. I wanted to be me. I tell people I have a job, not a career. My intention was to make money to survive, to live my life. I had no dreams of making it big or making it rich but why am I still bitter? If I didn't want to be part of the rat race, why do I keep measuring myself with the same standards of the norm? I forget sometimes. This job pretty much answered my prayers of leaving the rat race and for that, I am grateful.

Recently I was told that I have to specialize​ in something... but what? and the words kept ringing in my ears... "Master of none"

I tried to recall all the things that I have done in the past, I did pretty well in organizing, work-related. I was doing pretty well giving out instructions, that's what people said; I was not so bad of a trainer... but I've always wanted to write. Lately, I felt beaten, because all I ever wanted was to write, but I couldn't, and worse of all, the creative juice ain't running... Writing needed a lot of skills, but I only wanted to write whatever's flowing through my head, hence, all the mumbo-jumbo that seemed to repeat itself, and/or not making much sense.

Previously I wrote about my hobbies to keep me company. I spent quite a lot of time 'nurturing' my hobbies than to actually hone a skill that I can use to build a career. I don't say I know a lot, but I guess enough, but I can never say that I specialize​ in anything, not one single thing.

Maybe I specialize in not mastering any trade I learned? Maybe...

Never be disappointed in things you did not expect in the first place.

Sort:  

I, too, have struggled with a world that seems to insist that people be defined by a single interest. I'd rather be okay at basketball AND chess than an expert in one and terrible at the other.

The original quote is: Jack of all trades, master of none,
though oftentimes better than master of one. Don't be discouraged :) sometimes it is best to have many small skill sets!

most of the times i feel so too, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56