Bleah! (Ulog #28)

in #rant6 years ago (edited)


Unsplash

I put this off for as long as possible... I hate doing this, and even when my wife nags and nags and tells me that she can't stand to look at me anymore, I'll still put it off. What is this horribly terrible chore that I have to do?

The worst thing to ever happen


Unsplash

Okay... maybe with that chapter heading, I'm overstating it a little bit. Even more so, when I know that there are people who like doing this sort of thing... in which case, I think that really need to go to talk to a professional for their particular weird problem.

Getting a haircut. I dread having it done, and more so, I dread the days that follow. I dislike the fact that everyone notices and makes a comment, which is weird, as I am part of a professions whose job it is to BE NOTICED! But that is fine for my on-stage persona, but my private persona is one of private privateness! I like the corners of a room, I like the shady dimly lit areas, I just like being not noticed (but please give me your upvotes!).

So, I after dropping of my child at school and at daycare, I thought I would take the plunge and just go and get my hair cut. If nothing else, just to stop my wife growling at me each time I walk in the door.

Funnily enough, it is probably the fact that I avoid doing it for months and months and months that makes it much worse, as the difference is probably just that much more noticable. Maybe I should take a different tack, and just get a little trim every day, just so that I look the same from day to day? Or maybe I should fund some biotech to skip on finding a balding cure, and tackle the greater problem of why hair should grow in the first place... Why can't it just stay static?

Anyway, for anyone who is interested in what I currently look like. I now look a lot like Bert from Seasame Street....



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/10/10/bleah-ulog-28/

Sort:  

You ever try doing it yourself? If you have a shorter simple cut it’s not that bad, I used to do it.

Or you can go the buzzed/shaved route!

I might try that out, maybe a little unnoticed trim every other day might mean I'm saved from going to barber....

Hey, @bengy.

I started losing my hair in my 20s. It was mostly gone by my mid-30s, give or take. When I say mostly, it's gone on top, but not around the sides. Which means even though most of my head does not have hair, I still have to get what is left cut.

Enter my wife. She will go and spend $15-$25 on a haircut for her, but insists on cutting mine. She used to cut our boys hair when they were younger and didn't know better. :)

Actually, she does a good job of it. Mine's fairly simple, and I'm not really picky. As long as I don't look like Doc Brown or Einstein on a bad hair day, it's all good.

I hear you about things growing, though. I'd rather any nails I had didn't grow. Maybe you can throw that in with your own biotech suggestion and see if we can't get a twofer. :)

Oh, I wish my wife would do mine but she doesn't do it. She tried a couple of times (also with our girls), but wasn't happy with the result (she wasn't, I wasn't bothered!).

Maybe I should go shaved, then I could do it myself! But I think my head is weird shaped!

Ha ha, Yes nails is another pain... Fingers I do often, as a musician I need to keep them short anyway. Toes, I keep forgetting until I get holes in my socks...

Hey, @bengy.

My wife, when she cuts my hair, is always saying Oh, that's not good, or Oops! and then I look at it and can't see anything wrong. She's the one who generally the one who decides when it needs to be cut, too, so I really don't have to say anything.

So, you grow your hair to hide your weird shaped head? :) I think bald heads look weird, anyway. There are plenty of people who can pull it off, but when you're used to having hair, it can seem strange when you don't.

I'm not sure if I get to the holes in the socks stage. I usually end up poking myself, first. :)

i lost that problem quite some years ago ...

also dont have kids ... probably good since i can barely take care of myself ...

if you ever do a six page essay on chopin let me know, i cant vote more than 100% though :D

In getting there on also losing that problem... I think it will be soon that I will probably need to go the shaved route...

Ha ha, I'm not sure I can write that much about Chopin... Maybe I'll give it a go one day! Is he your favourite composer?

when it comes to dead piano players i guess you could say that yes :D

me too, i just trim it, if i dont i look like some thing that got stuck in the 60s and doesnt wanna give in lol ... its a damn shame, i <3'd my long hair

haha! hey Bert looks fine so I guess you do too! Have you talked to anyone about this issue you have? lol.

Bert has a funny shaped head and funny mop on top!

This post has received a 5.98 % upvote from @boomerang.

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.877 which ranks you at #4086 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 526 places in the last three days (old rank 4612).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86