Oh noes the maff

in #rant5 years ago (edited)

I hope nobody interprets this post as some sort of anti-bidbot rant, because I've always been a proponent of choice. That is, if there is a demand for a product, then the ground is fertile for Entrepreneurship. Yes, there are things we may not like, personal ideologies we adhere to, but it's also important to recognize people's freedom of choice, which of course, is not the same as freedom of consequence, although those get conflated quite often.



However, the point I wanted to make on this short little rant is the following. People need to learn some math, they really do. I see so many people with these "tactics" for growing that to be honest, make me cringe a little bit. I mean, these poorly written posts, sometimes one picture, sometimes even plagiarized, all promoted with magical internet money, no interaction, no value, nothing.

I've asked, because I've been curious more than once, what the plan is, and you would be surprised or maybe not so much to hear the responses. Things like "It doesn't matter, its how you make money here..""How else do you increase your steem power?", "I can double my account in month like this!". That last one, which I heard just a few days ago, made me accept, maybe once and for all, that most don't understand the numbers at all.

You might be thinking right now, "Oh no, @meno's gone rogue", but that's not it, not really. I'm not upset, I'm not really bothered per say, I'm just baffled, because that is the only word that fits.

The low effort/promotion abusers can continue doing their thing, throwing money down the drain and I won't try to help them anymore. Why? What for? After I show them the math, they just tell me I'm wrong anyways.

Sort:  

It’s unfortunate as most blame the bidbots instead of the users. I prefer not to use them but understand their use in the ecosystem so I don’t think it is them but instead the users. These days its even more ridiculous becuase given the way the witnesses are updating the Steen feed price, the ROI will almost always be negative!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No complaining if you don't flag! (kidding, but it is a special pet peeve of mine and I wrecked my voting power yesterday.)

I also see those who have read the white paper and seem to understand Steem in many ways... but refuse to deploy the part about abuse as just as misguided.

i have no problem flagging and throw my hat in the ring every now and then too... ;)

I always advice people to grow their account and following organically if they actually want to make it here. There are no shortcuts! Most get very little return and visibility from buying votes on their shirposts.

its silly... all they get is the botty comments, and they think they are winning... there is a particular account, that wrote a two line "thank you" for the support, and all the post had was bot comments.

You can't make this stuff up! hahaha of course the flagrewards peeps came and sent him into the negative ROI, but even without the flags, he was making close to nothing.

I know you are not making it up, I’ve seen these type of people, they are so dumb 😅

I mean, these poorly written posts, sometimes one picture, sometimes even plagiarized, all promoted with magical internet money, no interaction, no value, nothing.

You said you liked my posts ..???

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :) | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Right now Bidbots are definitely giving negative ROI based on the fact that the system has the belief that the median price of Steem is currently $0.40 even though it's closer to something like $0.30.

That means you will get the amount of Steem paid to you that is as if each Steem is worth $0.40.

That is to say that you'll get much less Steem paid to you than the actual dollar amount shown.

IE

$75 = 185 Steem

BUT

185 Steem = $45

There is no way to get your ROI this way, and before you say something about three day rolling average it hasn't been $0.40 in longer than three days.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.146 which ranks you at #262 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43