Rap Day #24: James Vickery - Until Morning

in #rapday6 years ago

rapDayBanner.png

I do not know why, but I have suffered a slow and steady transition from rap towards R&B. While R&B still holds some structure and influences from hip-hop, it is a completely different genre. Specially regarding the feeling it manages to transfer to the listener. Compared to rap, it is more mellow, peaceful, romantic, and soulful. If you ask my partner, she would say it is only because lately I have been 'in the mood'... I have a different theory, though. I have been listening to the Youtube channel Colors which has a lot of different and amazing rappers, but also R&B artists. Maybe that is what has influenced my music listening behavior.

This post follows the structure of the past ones in some sense, and breaks some other patterns. It breaks the pattern because this song is not rap. Nevertheless, it keeps some structure because it is sharing, describing, and promoting a not so known artist that I consider deserves greater recognition. That being said, this time I bring a song by James Vickery.

"Don't know if there's research on how long can one have goosebumps, but I can confirm they can last for 3 minutes and 12 seconds." (Lou Guardini, Youtube Link)

"This dude sounds smoother than leather dipped in baby oil." (Haight the Great, Youtube Link)

James Vickery is a 23-year-old R&B artist from South London. Two of his most famous songs are 'Epiphany' and 'Lately' in that chronological order. When he came out with 'Epiphany' he won immediate support from Radio 1's Huw Stephens, Majestic Casual, and several Spotify Playlists. Furthermore, the song peaked at #7 on the Spotify UK's Viral Chart. Such achievement is made more impressive after knowing that he is and independent artist who is not renown. He is certainly on the right track, and has earned some very loyal fans.


Lyrics:

[Verse 1]
I'll wash you down like a glass of wine
And I don't need to think anything twice

[Pre-Chorus]
You know I wished you were here all the time
Living my fantasies out in real life

[Chorus]
Everything I'll give to you darling but
Until we reach morning you're mine
And don't you worry now baby
I'm the man you been craving this time

[Verse 2]
Guess you been dreaming 'bout me day and night
I think that's real 'cause then you won't forget me
And it's the reason why I hold you tight
And I won't pray that day dies in kind

[Pre-Chorus]
You know I wished you were here all the time
Living my fantasies out in real life

[Chorus]
Everything I'll give to you darling but
Until we reach morning you're mine
And don't you worry now baby
I'm the man you been craving this time

Everything I'll give to you darling but
Until we reach morning you're mine
And don't you worry now baby
I'm the man you been craving this time

Sources:

What kind of rap do you like best? Who is your favorite rapper? Leave a comment and feel free to share and contribute to #rapDay. If you enjoyed the song and/or would like to get more #rapDay on your feed, feel free to upvote, follow and/or resteem. Thanks for reading.

Best,

@capatazche

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 23.97% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hello steemhq!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations @capatazche! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85