Rat Race

in #ratrace5 years ago (edited)

Get me out of this fucking rat race
It's giving me cancer in my balls
Or maybe that's the alcohol
Just one of my pitfalls

Sucking the dick of Mr Taxman
I'm whoring myself out
Is this responsibility?
I'm consumed with self doubt

Find me a deadly weapon
Michael Douglas, Falling Down
Or smoke weed for perspective
So I don't those guns to town

Contracted to the devil
I've signed away my soul
Window shopping for a new one
Desperately clinging for control

Should have had an exit strategy
Knew I'd cock this up somehow
An oversight in hindsight
But that doesn't help me now

Get me out of this fucking rat race
Truth be told I'm going mad
It's not all that it's cracked up to be
I feel like I've been had

Get me out of this fucking rat race
I've got an incoming brain tumor
I suppose that could be the smoking
It's hard to keep a sense of humour

Get me out of this fucking rat race
Factory reset - suicide
But this is real life not software
And nowhere left to hide



  • If you think I could help you produce articles, posts or poems... follow me and see if my content is something you can work with.






I've brought, traded and hodled crypto but I want to take a further step and support mainstream adoption through the process of earning and spending cryptocurrencies through the wider community.

Tip me!

BTC: 3Fzb1jh1updLjiPvJaGmQzSpKT3E21XMKU
ETH: 0x0E05Ab49E70F3110b8Ea3bc02a522E3f15B7AC59

Sort:  

Nice work! Really captures the feeling of modern day social enslavement!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @thecryptopoet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62