Book Review ~ Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

in #reading7 years ago

Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

F08B2BF2-74A9-4B6F-B3D0-C8CC6C73EBC7.jpeg

First I just have to say, I don’t think Colleen Hoover has ever written a book that I didn’t like. This one was no exception.

I learned this book was coming out about 4 months before it was released. Knowing that I was about 98% sure to love it, I waited....very impatiently!!

As soon as it was out I downloaded it and gobbled it down within 24 hours of starting it. I wish I could have slowed myself down, just to savor it a bit more.

My mostly (if not completely) spoiler free synopsis below:

Merit lives in a house with lots of secrets, including one of her own. Merit lives with her sister, brother, father, stepmother, half brother, mother and also a guy her sister has brought home and ignores.

Merit feels invisible and small. She feels as though no one notices anything she does or doesn’t do, especially since she’s stopped going to school. Merit makes a rash decision one night and her life is forever changed.

Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness.

My favorite quote from the book. All anyone needed in Merits house, and in her life was just a little forgiveness and possibly a different perspective.

I would recommend this book to anyone, but also recommend that you take your time; it was over way too soon for me.


Happy Reading Y’all

Sort:  

Hello @bedoodle
I haven't read any of Colleen Hoover's books before. Thanks for the "spoiler free synopsis".

As soon as it was out I downloaded it and gobbled it down within 24 hours of starting it. I wish I could have slowed myself down, just to savor it a bit more.

I hope I don't do this too. 😁


@learnandteach01

Colleen has a great writing style. If you like books with lots of feels, any of hers is good.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 3.21 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bedoodle. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Congratulations @bedoodle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73