The Joys of Reading

in #reading6 years ago (edited)

54ff9839a81fa-books-rowling-de.jpg
In school when you were told what books to read all you can think is "ugh I don't want to read that". I can honestly say that I did not read a single one of the books and guessed on the tests or had my friend tell me what the book was about. It was hard for me to be interested in those books because they weren't something I chose to read myself. Then there came a time when I decided to pick something to read that I might be interested in and that was mystery.

Mystery

I am one of those people who love figuring things out! I watch tons of the shows like NCIS that all have mysteries and engage your mind. It makes my mind work and I love the feeling of being able to figure out the solution with the clues I have. So when I decided to start reading I started with a series of books (I wish I could remember the name ) that was all about the joys of solving problems! I read all of those books in the series and there were about 15 of them. That is when I started becoming more aware of how much I enjoyed reading.

Fantasy

This is another genre of book I love. Do you ever feel like you just need a break and you need to go somewhere else to cool down or relax? Well this is what I do, I read this genre because it takes me somewhere else. I don't have to think about why I was stressed. My husband knows that if I am mad and go get a book it's my time to cool down! Some people might not understand how this helps but when I read it's a movie playing in my mind. I picture it all like I'm right there! And when I'm really involved in the book you could talk to me and I would have no remembrance of you even saying a word (which I have to say my husband gets annoyed with).
index.jpg

Paper or Electronic?

Paper all the way! I love the feeling of holding the book in my hands! This might be weird to some but I love the smell of books, the new book smell just brings me to a relaxing comfortable place where I just want to cuddle with a blanket and pillow and read as much as I can! Books were ment to feel the paper as you turn the page to the next exciting thing! I have a hard time liking the electronic kindles and things like that because I'm afraid that no one will want to buy paper books anymore and then they will stop making them, and that to me would be a very sad time.
bookstory_647_050316071551.jpg

Give it a try

If your a person who hates reading I just want to push you into trying again! Look for different genres that you haven't read before and let your imagination take you to a whole new place! You are never going to like reading if you don't find something that interests you to begin with! So my task for you after reading my post is to go find a book and give it another try! I hope that I could convince you in my post that books really are something to love!
images.jpg

Sort:  

You got me back into reading. I love your suggestions and completely understand the movie in your head thing.

Thanks Sierra!

Wonderful post! I am finally getting back into reading and feel like I am falling in love with it all over again. Books make life so much better!

Thank you! I try to read as much as i can now a days!

Congratulations @berr! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @berr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68