You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apple vs. Google - Closed Versus Open Systems - Book Club #19: "Steve Jobs"

in #reading6 years ago

Since I received my first iPod Touch I became a huge Apple fan.

But I also like android, open systems, and of course competition.

Apple devices are the best in my opinion, and if one plans to be involved in crypto, the security Apple is able to provide also needs to be taken into consideration.

Sort:  

Yeah I've been a huge Apple fan nearly my entire life - one of my first computers was the Apple iBook G4 and it had me mesmerized with technology ever since. Yes, I'm also a fan of open systems and competition - there are many tradeoffs between open and closed systems. Closed provides us ease of use while open provides us more options and customization. I think the world needs both for the many varied use cases that arise.

I use apple for some of my crypto.

But only certain coins are approved for iOS. And some of the apps work better on Android.

I get tend to get the new Nexus/pixel on the price drop, not launch. And update the iPhone to be 1 or 2 generations behind. The spare phone also acts as 2 factor/multisig.

Also have Mac/PC.

Some developers put something out first on one or the other, and it's fun/useful to have access to the new potentially disruptive apps.

I agree, it's great to have both types of systems so that you can access the best possible software regardless of where it goes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74