Sunday reading!

in #reading6 years ago

I’m enjoying the few hours this afternoon while my kids are sleeping with these 2 books.

2FFDEC87-7DBB-496B-8B92-47A528F93EAB.jpeg

This book has followed me around for the last 16 years of my life. Being a huge basketball fan I have always had a lot of respect for John Wooden. After reading 4 of his books I have even more respect for him. He cared about people and that is all you need to know about him. Don’t worry about all the winning he did or the amazing players he coached. That stuff is awesome and fun but that’s not what I learned from him.

My favorite passage today for this book was a poem.

I am not what I ought to be,
Not what I want to be,
Not what I am going to be,
But I am thankful that
I am better than I used to be.

We all can improve just a little each day.

Book number 2.
5C3FD155-69E2-4DD4-A9F4-55FECF490F93.jpeg

My dad would always read us the chronicles of Narnia when we were growing up. I fell in love with the dream of going to Narnia when I was about 8 years old. I might of even said a prayer or 2 trying to get there. 😂😂 I still have never seen the movies.

This book is just a quote for each day of the year from one of the books by C. S. Lewis. They always make me think. I usually sit down once a month read all the quotes from that month.

What is everyone else reading? Pleas share.

Sort:  

I've always read a lot of great things about John Wooden, but I haven't picked up any of his books. That reminds me that I have two new books at the house that I still need to start picking up more often.

They are "Astrophysics for People in a hurry" by Neil deGrasse Tyson and "12 Rules for life" by Jordan Peterson. I've read a few chapters from the first book, but haven't really started the second.

I've been trying to read Principles by Ray Dalio. I found out recently that the library has an audiobook copy so I'm hoping out for it to come available. I've always preferred audiobooks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny you should say that. I just started following Ray Dalio on social media. I’ll let you after I read his book. I ordered this week.

That's funny. I hope you enjoy it. Joseph and I read a good portion of the "first draft" version together a while back. This one is much bigger. We have the physical book but I get impatient with my reading speed and also distracted with everything that needs to be done.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99