One Down, Six to Go

in #reading5 years ago

D42B4B0A-7858-4D97-9353-20FC2B32F812.jpeg

Since I came back from the countryside on Monday, I’ve immersed myself in the world of Song of Ice and Fire, more known by the name Game of Thrones, which is the name of the first book in the series. Once the television series ended, I vowed to read finally read the whole book series, which I had started already years ago.

This morning I finished the first book, now for the second time, and I see a bookmark on page 139 on the second book, but I will start reading from the beginning again. I really love reading and even though I have seen the television series first, it doesn’t much bother me. The first couple of books and seasons go pretty much hand in hand, the books of course having more details, so it doesn’t mess with you too much. ”Aaactually, Daenerys has purple eyes, not green.”

One good thing about having a really shitty memory is that even though I know the story and remember the general plot, I never remember exactly what comes next so I can really enjoy the books.

I’m really looking forward to reading further, where I am sure the story divides more from the series, and different characters will live or die than in the televised version of the story. And of course there are the two volumes that are yet to be published. I intend to read the first five books before the sixt comes out. I just ordered the next two, well three actually because the third one is in two parts.

I am not a very fast reader, but I am determined and when I start reading a book, I read for hours at a time. I really get into it and try to shut out the real world, I don’t even put on music because it’s distracting. I always have a conflict with great books, do I read it fast because I want to know what happens next, or should I savour it because it’s so good. A Song of Ice and Fire is a prime example of that. It did take me two weeks to read the first book, though I wasn’t reading every day. I think technically I could read one of these book in three or four days if I didn’t do anything else.

I should be doing something else too, like take photos and such, but it’s a nice summer day and I wanna read more.

Sort:  

I don't think anything will ever replace Lord of the Rings (and The Hobbit) in terms of being my favorite fantasy novels but the GoT series definitely has a solid hold on 2nd place.

I tried once reading the Lord of the Rings but it never grabbed me like GoT or Harry Potter.

It took me until the third book until I really got into the Harry Potter books but it's one of my favorite series now. I was hooked on The Lord of the Rings when I first read it in Middle School. The Narnia books were another series I really loved when I was younger but I don't find them as good to re-read now. You should give LOTR again sometime if you run out of things to read. Start with The Hobbit though...

That is one mighty task. Not sure if I'm up to that myself. Lord of the Rings and Silmarillion was already a hefty package...

Posted using Partiko Android

I got through four of these before it started to feel too much like work. But my attention span is shot these days. Can't remember the last time I read something for more than 30 minutes without falling asleep.

Sometimes I wish I could enjoy reading like I used to. But as Schopenhauer said, "A man can do as he wills, but not will as he wills."

I'll look forward to your take on the later books!

Some days I feel super sleepy all the time, yesterday was like that, and I think I nodded off like five times during the reading, but today it was smooth sailing :)

Wow, it’s gonna be another Harry Potter craze for me 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, but more for the adult taste!

Yup, and conveniently I am also grown from a Harry Potter to Jon Snow 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Funnily enough, I was just thinking earlier today how similar the two characters are.

Haha while Hermione somehow reflects Daenerys? 😂😂 mind blown

Posted using Partiko iOS

The books are way better than the series, so many more details and more characters also. Can’t wait for the last one to come out

Posted using Partiko iOS

never read this book book but I'm big fan of the web series

I highly recommend the books!

Good work. I've been thinking about smashing them out again myself...Well written and engrossing and considering the HBO series deviated so much from the books it would be good to revisit them. Don't worry about the photos. Just read. Seems that's what you really want to be doing anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder in which book will I start to notice more major differenses between the books and series? 🤔

Hmm, probably into the second I think although it's been a while since I read them. There are similarities throughout though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never read the books before, but I've heard good things about them @eveuncovered. It's really interesting how Game of Thrones is mostly based on George Martin's books, though the ending to the TV series ended fairly abruptly. Given your knowledge, when you compare the TV show and the books, if you could only watch Game of Thrones or read A Song of Ice and Fire, which one would you only read/watch?

Best Regards,
Blue Baikal
https://www.bluebaikal.io/en


Image of Blue Baikal Logo

✬ Join the contest at Blue Baikal and receive rewards! ✬
✬ --- Go to Blue Baikal --- ✬

I was not a fan of the final season, everything felt really hurried and a lot of things didn’t make sense, yet I think it is one of the best shows ever made. I would still always select books over tv if I had to :) I’m really eager to read more because there is obviously more happening in the books and hopefully a better ending.

I also had a period that I read every day, the books of the Game of Thrones
I miss the last 2 books...

I wish you a good read :)

Don't bother, he will die before he finishes the series

Oh shut up! 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56