Let books change you, don't worry about hording knowledge

in #reading6 years ago

I came across a great article today, “Stop Trying To Memorize — A Good Book Will Change You” by @gziadi / Gonzalo Ziadi. The title says it all really, that's the whole insight, but it really stuck me.

It resonates so strongly with me because I too needlessly worry about losing the knowledge of books and articles I read, and I too take notes, and I too experience it often as a bit of a chore. It does sometimes have the effect of making me put off reading because it doesn't feel relaxing.

Well guess what? I've made these few steps in the last few days:

  1. Bought a Kindle Paperwhite
  2. Loaded it up with books and articles from my reading list
  3. Organised and synced my Pocket account to it via Calibre
  4. Most drastically, cancelled by Netflix subscription.

I've crossed the line. I'm determined for reading to be relaxing, transformative and fun.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/fourth-let-books-change-you-dont-worry-about-hording-knowledge-lwlaic0z-1536422678891.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @fourth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @fourth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69