RootssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #reading6 years ago

Many things led me to libertarianism and anarchism.

As a child, being homeschooled by my mother, we learned a lot. We had our basics. Reading, writing, math, and civics. Outside that, we learned what we wanted. Learning was always, and that's something that has stuck with me.

We learned about the founders a lot. My mom went to great lengths to ensure that we had great books. We had thousands. Shelves lined our garage, full of books. Our formal dining room was converted to a library. There were over five thousand books just in the library. A love of reading and researching has never left me.

IMG_20180117_140520143.jpg

When my oldest son was born, I was working a government job taking care of retarded people. I trust you'll excuse any political incorrectness, I'm just saying it as fact. I worked with a man named Ilya Shaposhnikov. He was a doctor in the Soviet army. A very smart man who has retired, and I hope is doing well. He recommended I read Atlas Shrugged, and I started it while I was on a 12 week medical leave with my wife.

I was hooked. I knew there was something right about her philosophy, Objectivism. I read Atlas Shrugged, The Fountainhead, We the Living, and The New Left: The Anti-Industrial Revolution. That was my primer on Objectivism, and I began my exploration of libertarianism.

All that is to say, I'm starting The Fountainhead again. I remember liking it better than Atlas Shrugged because the story is easier to follow and gets the same point across. I think it will be good to read now that I understand more if the fundamentals of anarchy and morality.

It'll take a few months, as most of my free time goes to podcasts, steemit, research, and the shop, but I'm reading it now again.

IMG_20180117_140441183.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66