You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apple vs. Google - Closed Versus Open Systems - Book Club #19: "Steve Jobs"

in #reading6 years ago

Since I am a blockchain enthusiast, I am an advocate with open and open source systems.

Amazing that they had to convince Jobs about having 3rd party apps for the iPhone. Imagine if that didn't happen?

Sort:  

I am also a blockchain enthusiast and I love open source systems, I do also believe there is a large need for closed systems as well - the far majority of people in the world (the average Joe) typically prefers having a user experience that is easy and simple.

The world would probably look a lot different today had he not changed his mind! Apple may not even exist in the way it does today if one of its competitors had done an Android store first and overtook their market share!

I totally agree.

Apple products may be desired by most users, but due to price tend to be only for 1st world nations.

I see the value of truly closed systems in electronic music production because the equipment never crashes!

Absolutely, the products are definitely pricey and with the price tag the expectations for performance and simplicity follow as well!

So true. I am not an Apple person, but I have to admit the iPad is the best in category device!

100%! I love my iPad, mainly for reading with iBooks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77