Metzli's Reading Log #1

in #readinglog6 years ago

Metzli's Reading Log October 9,2018.png

I am loving tokenization.

My current favorite token is Actifit. With Actifit app, I can earn tokens for exercising. Curiosity got me to use it, but reality got me to pay more attention to it. I recognized that my exercise patterns were less than my imagination had predicted, and it makes me an overall more active person.

It got me dreaming about a Reading Token, that tokenizes your reading and helps you earn books. So here I am creating that for myself. Liquid SBD or STEEM from my "Reading Log" posts will be saved up and used to reward myself with BOOKS! Did you know that the more books your home has, the more literate your whole family becomes? Even if only one of you reads the books?

My goal is to read for at least 20 minutes a day for myself. These 20 minutes don't include, the "Whatever After", "Ivy and Bean", and kid Halloween Stories, I have been reading, these 20 minutes a day are for my personal enjoyment.

Today I read: Inside Out & Back Again written by Thanhha Lai. I enjoyed it. I took me two different sit downs to finish, but I am only tracking once. The book is written in poetry form which means it can read really fast if you don't give yourself time to pause and reflect for a bit. I like it when authors can give you a whole lot of feeling and information without taking a lot of your time.

The Story is about a girl from Vietnam who leaves her war torn country to move to the United States. It brought up issues we have here in "The States" such as how we only value education if it is in English, and how nasty and disgusting our food is even to "poor refugees." I considered thoughts on pity and generosity and what it means to who.

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics created by me using canva templates. picture used came from canva as well. banners created by the community they represent

Sort:  

Oh yes ... reading is great. I too have a small library in our home. When I go to the bookstores, I just get stuck there. Especially when I was younger and buying story books was a luxury. I would sit for hours in the bookstore and read till my parents tell me it’s time to go home.

Now I just buy the books and enjoy it at home. Sadly my kids don’t have the same interest as I do

Books were my first love. Now if I have time, I spend it at a bookstore. I can't decide if I like used book stores or new bookstores better.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by metzli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It is so important to take time for ourselves, so this is a great goal. Extra bonus is that kids love to copy. Every time I read, my kids want to know what I am reading and let me know what hey have read. My oldest and I swap books, right now I am reading "The Girl With No Name" by Marina Chapman. Its a heart wrenching true story, I definitely recommend it.

Thank you for the book recommendation! If you end up writing a book review, please make sure to tag me.

I love it when my kids copy me, if Im reading or journaling.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 14.46% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

I love books
When I was a kid, I use to go missing all the time when my mum went shopping. After awhile, she knew exactly where to find me. At the book session.
Weekends were spent at the library.
My daughter is a lot like me, loves reading. But my sons.... gahhhhhh.
But her taste is different.
So when I decluttered, I got rid of many books, but still have plenty. Now that you say, we only need one person who reads, maybe I will keep it a little bit longer just in case she comes around... haha.

I recognized that my exercise patterns were less than my imagination had predicted

haha, too close to home.

Clutter is clutter, and I have a hard time sometimes with having books that don't "nurture" while at the same time trying to keep an extensive library.

The idea is that having a book in the house makes it so that the book, author, subjects, cover, ideas, eventually get discussed by the members of the house. But yeah, libraries and bookstores. When I was a kid I read ALL the books in the library...

We sound like such nerds hahahaha
And I know you are not!!
Neither am I!!
Ok, books that we can discuss... thank you ... I like that :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69