Adventures in Credit Reporting Pt. 3

in #realestate6 years ago

Coming up on the first month, so far, one past lender has responded positively with a confirmation letter that should be updated to the bureaus in the next week. Another lender has confirmed receipt of the request and is still in the research process, but should be responding and updating my report shortly.

A third lender (that sounds like they might be a problem) responded about a week ago with a letter stating they did not service my mortgage, which is not the question I asked. However, I'm not quite sure if they understood the request. Every so often, it seems that people sort of have their mind made up and are not really listening to your question. But at the same time, I have to remember they were not very "warm" on the phone either. What I need from them if the case truly is that they couldn't locate the file (which I don't think they looked) is to find out if they did not take receivership from the original lender, then what servicer did take receivership? This is part of chain of title, and all files have to be maintained somewhere, even if the original company is no longer in business. They may possibly be in receivership of two other files I need re-reported, and I may have to invest in an attorney. One of the most annoying things is when you ask a question, and the person on the other end acts like your question is strange, but then when they get the exact same request from an attorney, they understand perfectly and move with all expedience.

Doing a little more digging, I found another erased mortgage for a property I purchased at a discount out of probate. Somehow, my records on the property got lost, but I was able to find a copy of the deed and escrow closing statement. Even though it had been 15 years, I was able to contact the escrow company to get the old mortgage account number. Later, taking a chance digging through some old bills, I found a payment slip matching the account number and property address, for documented proof matching the property, record of ownership and mortgage. The only remaining issue is the lender of record is also now out of business. I know what lender should be maintaining their old files, now its a matter of will the research department actually do the research, verify my information, and re-report the paid mortgage to the credit bureaus, or will I have to retain a real estate attorney to urge them to locate their copy of the file?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67