A False Sense of Reality.

in #reality6 years ago

“A false sense of reality.” is what I overheard a woman saying at the coffee shop.

I could put together a collection of all the things that I have heard over the last few months at the local coffee shop, and in other public places, that are either filled with contradiction or laced with fallacy. I have hand written a few as a start for this collection, and this woman’s quote is a part of them.

Perhaps each separate quote could be the subject of a full chapter or section, where I expound on each of the quotes and why it is considered bizarre in some way or another, wether it be a display of ignorance, arrogance or laziness, a logical fallacy complete with it’s contradicting conclusion is what is left. Indeed there are others, more taboo then lack of eduction, taboo to either my personal local culture, or human culture in general.

Viz. While walking down the sidewalk through the local neighborhood, of which I partake, on daily basis, over the last several months while here in Newport Beach, California, and at that certain time, each day of the week, minus those federal holidays, I also have the company of the local middle school children who live near enough to walk home. One day, in midweek, I found myself walking closely behind two of the younger of the school children, an elementary level and must have been cohorts; a boy and a girl. They were in conversation about I do not know what, except that portion of which I did manage, in happenstance, to overhear. The young boy, in his discussing, said,

“I’m not a normal kid, I like to play with sticks and stuff.”
I understand that this can be considered to be quite insignificant too many, especially at first, but, the significance is well enough for me to have taken note, in a ‘laugh-out-loud’ humorous manner, and to have both written it down for further pondering (as I am doing here), and, to have (wf.’brought up) this event in conversation, on more than a couple occasions, in a few separate, and contextually different, conversations. If this does not have an immediate, “bizarre,” affect; if this is not personally significant, as I have shown it to be for myself, then I urge you to take a moment, read that quick phrase spouted out by that young boy of this 21st century, just once again.

In my 36 year aged mind, (ok, 37 in a couple days) this, ‘playing with sticks and stuff,” would be an expected attribute of a boy his age, to a child’s character, and definitely NOT an ‘abnormal’ behavior, by any means! I suppose, that the children of the common era would more appropriately say, something of this sort,

“I’m a normal kid, I like to play with tablets and stuff.”IMG_4385.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67579.79
ETH 3758.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55