The gold that is left behind

in #reality7 years ago

Today I have a mix of thoughts and emotions I had to share. First another election is over, and it has a new first for the political scene. I realized that my interest in the social media "celebration" was not very high. This is not about the accomplishment of Andrea Jenkins specifically, but instead I think of the topics getting swept under the rug.


goldfish.png
((BBC source))

The other day I said social media was akin to a goldfish. It goes after the shiny not the important. That does not mean important things go unnoticed. Today's victory was one thing that social media is fired up about and rightfully so. The problem is that in the process of focusing on this topic, other important things grow dull. A social movement was started months back #metoo, and I barely see it skimming the scene lately.

This is one movement I actually participated in and posted about. While unrealistic, I did hope that this one would stick around longer. We, as a society, need to see the depth of the sexual abuse problem and the only way that happens is conversation. I read the origin and went "ok I'll post something real quick". Then I stared at my screen for extended periods of time. I drafted something and deleted it. Then repeat.

About that moment it struck me how difficult I found it to put words together on this topic. I wanted it to be bold, but I did not want my scars to show. This is the exact reason I wanted it to desperately stick around. Like many others, I have tossed my experience to the side for the sake of not feeling the victim anymore.


empty_stare.jpg
((Source))

Will a social movement make a difference? I truly believe that change in a society comes from people's awareness of a problem turning into action. Not as a mass whole, but in the everyday. People noticing exploitation more and speaking up. Brave individuals seeking aid to put a stop to their abuse because they know those helping them do not blame them for being a victim. The everyday actions of people helping break cycles and weed out abuse. That kind of change is not sudden, but I truly think it starts with awareness.

So the summary of my request: Let your conversations with those in your circle of influence continue to include the "not so shiny" social media topics that truly matter to you. Maybe.... just maybe we can turn a social media movement into a society movement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43