What do Kiwi's and Coffee have in Common?

in #reallifetricks6 years ago (edited)

Last Sunday when 99% of Dutchies where out and about enjoy the sun in whatever way possible, I was working, almost hoovering above my coach, but in realty sitting on it with laptop and all.

Not complaining at all, just have some tight deadlines this week and needed to get things done, nice things, so all good :)

As I usually do when working at home, I have my television switch on, generally tuned in to some more or less random channel. Last Sunday it was our Dutch CNN 'RTLZ', well not at all like CNN, but this channel is primarily a news channel, hence the reference.

Sunday it is documentary time.

One of the documentaries triggered me to stall my work for a bit. It was a documentary about ways to deal with sleep, or the lack thereof.


© Kiwi Coffee & Co (source)

Coffee & Power Nap


Obviously coffee and the power nap was covered. However in different ways then I would have expected. Those who regularly drive a car, probably know those moments of terrible sleepiness, those times we have to park our car at the side of the road, or better, at some parking lot. When I get sleepy behind the wheels, I usually stop the car, step out, and start jumping for a good set of minutes. Usually that gets me going, but generally not for long. The effect of the adrenaline wears off quickly. However, getting to the nearest gas station is all I need. Coffee is doing it for me; That is more effective! When not with 1 cup, I take two or three cups. Rarely I take a power nap, but that method seems to be more effective, however it requires 15 to 20 minutes.

In this documentary they combined the power nap and coffee, showing a better result than just having a power nap, or just having a cup of strong coffee. The procedure is as follows: Just before the power nap, drink a cup of strong coffee. Apparently coffee takes about 20 minutes to get to our brain, and in between one needs to take the power nap. Three individuals where tested in the documentary, and all three improved their reaction speed considerably, with more than 30%. Ok, Ok, testing on three people is not so scientifically, but at least 100% of the test subjects showed improvements :) I'll certainly try this one next time when my eyes like to close while I'm cruising!

Kiwi


The other test they did involved a Kiwi. Yep, this green somewhat sour fruit. Research shows eating two Kiwi's before going to bed, helps people having difficulties to fall asleep, to fall asleep quicker. Also, it apparently supports the sleeping process itself, with less wake ups.

Although I could try this one, I'm a good sleeper by nature, so not sure what it will improve for me. But I do know quite a few people who may benefit from this sleep trick, so I'll try and persuade them to test this one.

Again, in the documentary they tested this with a number of individuals, five this time. And again, not very scientifically due to the low number of subjects. But what means science, when one can test it in person?

Are you having difficulties falling asleep? Well, buy a good number of Kiwi's. The procedure is quite simple: eat two kiwi's just before going to bed, and keep repeating this for a couple of weeks. The document maker experienced changes after two to three weeks of Kiwi eating, when he stopped eating Kiwi's, he slowly turned back to his old sleeping difficulties.


© (source)

Also check this paper: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21669584

Do Try this at HOME! :)

Music Library with more than 200 Entries

blockchain curator and reviewer for @illuminati-inc
you like music? check @qsounds

Sort:  

You love coffee @edje..?, International Coffee Organization (ICO) since 2014 and has set October 1 as International Coffee Day. There are about 77 countries in the world, including Indonesia commemorate the coffee day.

Indonesia is also known as a country producing coffee and coffee in Indonesia is worldwide. too very familiar with coffee.

Nice, I do as well :) However, coffee also has its downsides, when drinking to much, the body gets more tired, or it needs to get coffee all the time. When drinking a lot of coffee and I stop drinking it eg in the weekend, then headaches may appear since our body gets addicted to the coffee. So small doses only a couple of doses a day is the best way to experience coffee. But who am I, far from being a scientist or doctor :) Happy coffee drinking!

I agree, have you tried aceh coffee?

Never as far as I know; Not sure if we can get this in NL. I tried Laos coffee though, but that must be didferent to Aceh coffee

I will find out, how I send you Aceh coffee for you because I have never sent goods abroad. you should try Aceh coffee.

Hmmm, this is interesting! When I return home from concerts, sometimes I have a long drive... Although, I'm not sure a power nap (or coffee) near midnight is a good idea... But sometimes, being a parent, I do take naps in the day, so it might work there.

When I'm travelling, I often have difficulty calling asleep in hotels. I will have to try the kiwi trick!

The kiwi trick is a good one to try I think, its a very healthy fruit anyway, and quite small, therefor easy to take along while travelling. No TV, laptop or phone for the last hour before going to bed is another trick. Some kind of blue in the screens when turned on is not helping to produce the sleep hormons. Melatonine may also help :)

Heh, no screens before bed is tricky! But I use a screen colour shift to help with that...

I do use melatonin for jet lag, but I didn't think of it for just general use.

Screen: Indeed the re-clouring for evening/night is good. And yeh, I know people who use melatonin at home, with good results. Another method is the rubber hammer, the producer: when wanting to fall asleep, hit your head with the hammer. When this doesnt help, repeat the procedure, but with more force behind the hit :)

Maybe the kiwi before doesn’t have any impact on your sleeping habits but it still is one of the richest fruits in nutritional values, so it definitely can’t harm.

It certainly is, and that is why I eat this fruit from time to time :) And when my sleep quality decreases, I'll certainly will test the Kiwi for a better rest :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88