You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Talk #2 - The Pain Of Loving A Toxic Parent

in #realtalk5 years ago

I agree with you 100%. Life is tough and as a kid, you need not only guidance but support as well. I don't believe in "tough love" that's toxic, not helpful at all.

I remember there's a saying which my mom once told me, "We fight the most with whom we love the most", and though it sounds good, but in my honest opinion, that's complete nonsense. Sorry, mom.
If majority of the time that you spent together with someone you love is spent on fighting and arguing, then that's not love.

You're right, when you love someone, you talk everything through and make things work, that's love. Fighting is not love.

I'm sorry you have to go through all this, it's knot pleasant, I know that first hand. Try to find your way and try not to let these feelings destroy you. you can't chance your parents but you can change your future. Good luck.

Sort:  

Thank you. I've been trying to be more open about these things with my parents and communicate with them more often to try to create that mutual understanding.

Thank you for such a supportive comment :)

My pleasure and I hope you can clear things with them. These things hurt. Have a nice day/evening :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69