You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Talk #2 - The Pain Of Loving A Toxic Parent

in #realtalk5 years ago

Can we have the inverse of this article, please? Traits of healthy parents who enrich their children's lives?

I went through all of this and more and let me tell you kids out there: your life is going to be a million times better once you have your own place and steady income. I never thought I would experience this much freedom. I just felt trapped and hopeless. But you just have to keep swimming until you're free.

I feel that my friends are more family than my real family.

Sort:  

I'm sorry you had to face such horribly scenarios, but like you said, it gets better eventually when you are on your own. That's what I've been trying to do: become independent so I can raise my voice and no longer have to tolerate the irrational behavior of my parents.

Glad you're doing a lot better now. You are an example that things can change if you work on them. I remember reading a quote somewhere that said "Family isn't who you live with, it's who you die for" and I think that perfectly describes your relationship with your friends.

Maybe I will make an inverse version of this article in the near future. Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66