Tofu Tuesday: Fettuccine Alfredo

in #recipe6 years ago

pasta-1262327_640.jpg

This is a new segment that I’m going to start called Tofu Tuesday. I want to give you a delicious recipe every Tuesday, like Taco Tuesday but something with Tofu.

When I became plant-based/vegan I thought I was going to have to give up so many of my favorite foods. Fettuccine Alfredo was a major one. The one thing I have learned is that there is a way to veganize almost anything. That being said I am giving you my favorite recipe for Alfredo Sauce.

Ingredients:

1 12-ounce package Extra Firm Tofu
1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk
1/4 cup white wine
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons onion powder
1/4 teaspoon of mace (you can use nutmeg if you don’t have mace)
2 tablespoons arrowroot powder
2 tablespoons lemon juice
Salt to taste

Directions:

Put all ingredients into a food processor or high-speed blender and blend until smooth. Set aside.

Make pasta noodles as desired. (I also like to saute some mushrooms, spinach, and onion to put with this. Whereas my daughter loves it with broccoli, but make it your own or just the pasta and sauce is good too.)

Then in a saucepan heat sauce till fully heated. (If you are using a high-speed blender such as a Vitamix, you can set it on high and heat it up that way.)

Put pasta into a serving bowl add sauce as desired as well as any extras you might want. Toss to coat pasta well with the sauce and serve.

Note: For me when I make this I tend to have leftover sauce as I like things coated well but not like they are in a bath. So I jar my leftover sauce and usually have 2 cups leftover I’d say I end up with around 4 cups of sauce when I first make it.

I hope you enjoy this dish as it’s one of my favorites as well as my kids love it too.

(Picture from https://pixabay.com)

Sort:  

I haven't had alfredo once since I went vegan about 2.5 years ago. Thanks for the awesome and easy recipe. I'm looking forward to more of your tofu Tuesday posts! ⭐️

You're so welcome. I know how you feel when you think you have to give up something you love to eat. I hope you like next weeks too.

Congrats, I have featured this delicious recipe in my weekly vegan recipe roundup - highlighting my favourite recipes on #steemit this week. Keep crushing it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84