Rose Petal Infused Coconut Oil, A Simple Yet Luxurious DIY

in #recipe6 years ago

amber rose _ edm.jpg

The smell of a rose is like none other.


Roses are over 35 million years old and there are more than 150 species of this iconic flower.1

Most who have smelled the intoxicating scent of the rose once or twice can easily discern its aroma amidst the myriad of other flowers.

Rose essential oil is so prized that a 5ml bottle sells for over $400. One day I will have a bottle of pure rose essential oil that I use in my homemade cosmetics and aromatherapy products, but for now, I am wild crafting this simple and inexpensive version of delectable Rose Petal Infused Coconut Oil, made with hand plucked Rosa Rugosa that grows freely and abundantly in my yard.

I will use this scrumptiously sweet smelling oil as the base for lip balms and massage oil blends, and whatever other product I'm creating that requires a little extra magically delicious aroma.


To Begin, gather as many fresh rose petals and rosebuds as you can. This late in the season I was able to gather about three cups of roses from my front lawn.


You'll also need a large glass jar, and some coconut oil or other oil of your choosing. I wanted this blend to have a rich coco-rose scent so I used extra virgin coconut oil.


Untitled design.jpg

Start by melting the coconut oil in the jar in a pot of water on the stove. I used a little under two cups of oil for this batch.

Add the rose petals and submerge them in the oil. Let them sit in the oil placed in the pot of water on the stove for anywhere from 4- 24 hours. I turned the stove on to warm the water whenever it cooled enough that the oil started to harden.


Pretty petals in warm coconut oil the next day...


For the next step you will need a piece of cheesecloth, or an old pair of tights or leggings to separate the rose petals from the oil, and a bowl big enough to hold the oil.



Stretch the cloth over the bowl like so...


...and dump the mixture in.


Then pull the cloth away from the bowl...


...and start to squeeze the rose scented oily goodness from the petals...


...and, keep squeezing until you release all the oil that you can.


You will be left with a bowl full of fragrant and lovely Rose Petal Infused Coconut Oil.


Pour this into your storage vessel of choice...


... and use as your heart desires.




I hope you enjoyed this pictorial of how to make a Simple Yet Luxurious Rose Petal Infused Coconut Oil.



If you did, or if you have any questions, please let me know in the comments below.


Take Care,
@amymya

Sort:  

Great share @amymya. It's so fun to use nature for so many valuable things. Roses are a blessing. Thanks for sharing your inspiration.

Thank you @everlove! I really love roses, these wild roses are my favorite. ♡

Straight from nature!!! Design of perfection!

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmuah

we can also use it for hair fall, if i am not wrong @amymya

Yes coconut oil is great for hair :)

Oh, Amy!! You make it look so pretty and fun.. I might try it! I love coconut and roses both. Thank you for sharing your magic with us. ♥♥♥

It is very pretty and fun to make :) Making healthy beauty products is one of my favorite hobbies ♡

We'll use steemit money to buy that 400$ perfume Amy!

no no no silly. We can make it. And then sell it for 400$.

Yes!! Great pictorial blog @amymya 💗
Rose is certainly a special and wonderful oil 🌹

Thank you Jill, it was fun to make, the oil and the blog ♡

Oh even better :insert smart meme:

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats exactly what @soundwavesphoton said haha

I can smell it... virtual fax me some of those... I'm always too lazy for this kind of things... @llfarms post the most amazing recipes sometimes and I buy the ingredients but always fail to find the space and piece of mind to get myself ot prepare them...

Ya Justine is awesome ♡
I love making these things, been doing it for years and started my own little business for awhile, I am planning on working towards that again in the near future ♡

lovely, I think I need a project to get interested in to take my thoughts away from the computer, This looks fun and useful ...thanks for sharing

Thank you and you're welcome Vlad! I do my best posts when I'm really into the project ☆

Yea, i notice that posts like this are really popular, as they should be cause they are really cool and require a lot of effort, appreciate the effort for sure ;)

I want this. So badly. I have psoriasis, and coconut oil is one of the only things that brings consistent relief. Rose petal infused coconut oil sounds absolutely intoxicatingly wonderful. I want this...

It is really amazing. When I get my online shop up and running and start making products for others again, I will let you know :)

Oooh...yes! Please do! I'm all for anything that can help, and this looks so healthy!

UPDATE: Hi @amymya this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20181003t225901401z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I LOVE rosewater. Roses always make me think of my Gran. And I mentioned before, the old fragrence Caleche as well, which I still wear to this day, as it just makes me feel like I am carrying my grandmother's 'aura' about with me :) Scent is so important to our moods.

It really is! Aromatherapy is awesome, i hope to do more aromatherapy posts soon, explaining different oils and their many qualities and effects :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71627.79
ETH 3831.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51