I Enjoyed My Broccoli Pepper Soup And So Can You

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

cnn.PNG

The other day, I went to the supermarket to get the ingredients for a recipe that I had developed. Not very sure what the taste would be like, but I was convinced it would be great. I have eaten broccoli many a time, but I have never prepared one myself. I must let you know what motivated me to cook something entirely new to people on this side.

Broccoli has a lot of health benefits, especially its anti-inflammatory power which is helpful for people suffering from osteoarthritis. Apart from its unique flavor and taste, broccoli is an excellent source of vitamin C and K. You can get enough fiber, protein, and potassium from broccoli. Also, most people love eating broccoli because it is a powerful antioxidant which protects the body from free radicals.

That said, how does broccoli peppersoup (I will write both pepper and soup together because it is like a name in the part of the world I live in) tastes? My response will be: GREAT! Yea that is right, especially if you add the right ingredients. Naturally, I’m someone who loves good tastes and could go any length to get it. How do you spice up your day? Mine begins with a good and tasty dish on my table. When I consume something delicious, I feel happy. Lol!

Like I said, I could go just any length to get my taste even when eating out. I could remember those time I used to go out with my friend, Adebayo, whose love for tasty dishes even surpasses mine. He had once taken me to a cafeteria for a bowl of Amala (yam flour) prepared with a delicious soup made with beans and topped up with cheese, cow skin, and meat. I fell in love with that place and was a regular customer till I relocated.

Back to the subject matter, I came back from the supermarket with a fresh bunch of broccoli, yellow pepper, carrot, and Ox intestines and ready for my cooking adventure. Let me take you into the kitchen and describe what is on the table.

I have these ingredients ready for broccoli peppersoup:

  1. Broccoli
  2. Carrot
  3. Yellow pepper
  4. Onion
  5. Ox intestine
  6. Chili pepper
  7. Turmeric
  8. Tomatoes
  9. Scotch bonnet peppers
  10. Thyme
  11. Curry powder
  12. Vegetable oil
  13. Seasonings
  14. Salt
  15. Water

Preparing a Broccoli Peppersoup

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-07 at 5.36.39 PM.jpeg

Since Ox intestine is a little hard, you need to boil this first for some minutes, at least 30 minutes before adding broccoli. Start by cutting it into small pieces. Wash and put into the cooking pot, add a cup of water, add a tablespoon of salt, seasoning, turmeric, curry powder, thyme and onion in small quantities. Cover and put on fire and allow to heat.

Now, grind a small number of scotch bonnet peppers, tomatoes, and chili pepper together with a blender. Add the blended solution to the OX intestine on fire. Let it cook until soft. Cut the carrot into pieces and add.

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-07 at 6.22.45 PM.jpeg

Lastly, wash the broccoli with water and cut into small pieces. Do same with the yellow pepper. Add both to the boiling intestine, stir and allow it to cook for 5 more minutes.

You are done, and now ready to savor a delicious broccoli peppersoup.

You can eat it alone, with rice, or bread. I chose to take it with rice as you can see in the photo below. It was delicious and satisfying.

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-07 at 5.44.09 PM.jpeg

I hope to prepare it differently another time. Perhaps, I could fry it with cabbage. So, when next you want to eat broccoli, make a peppersoup out of it. You gonna enjoy it!

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 17.5% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59