You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pickled Jerusalem artichokes (Sunchokes)

in #recipe6 years ago

Didnt know you could pickle them! Awesome. A common problem is by the way gas from bad digestion. This is fixed by boiling it twice and replacing the water.
Try and see for yourself :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the pointer. I will try this out! I am lucky that they don't bother me but I hesitate to feed them to visitors because of that reason.

They say that refrigerating or waiting until after a few frost to harvest will reduce them amount of inulin in them. This is what I do but I have no evidence as to whether it really works.

Pickling them also makes them easy to digest. Might be something to do with the salt soak and fresh brine. A similar concept to yours with the boiling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78