Did you ever made the cannabis soap?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

cannabis_soap_steem.jpg

If you love make something yourself this is post for you. If you are more buyers as maker, than you still can be interested how it made☺

When sun is in the skies is to high to push cannabis to bloom.
If you love make something yourself this is post for you. If you are more buyers as maker, than you still can be interested how it made☺

When sun is to high in the skies to push cannabis to bloom you still can get some pleasure out of it. I trimmed a little bit some cannabis plants and made a butter for my ''Relax Cake''. I will post my secret recipe in one of my next posts soon. So, I made cannabis butter, it turned out gorgeous.

cannabis_butter_steemit.jpg

But I was wondering what I can do with messy leftovers.
My intuition said there is still good stuff in it, I had no idea what to do with them, so I just put them in freezer and turned back to cake.

After few days I remember I still have that green mess in my freezer.

I have some experience in soap making, so I decided to take a challenge to integrate it in my new soap recipe. Working with fresh plant ingredients are not easy in soap, because lye (caustic soda or sodium hydroxide) as main ingredient who turn oil in a soaps burns all organic material and any wonderful natural color become brown.
So to preserve natural color you should let lye react with oils first or you need make the plant infusion in oil.

Cannabis _leftovers _steemit.jpg

As my mashed cannabis was frozen I hoped it will slow down burning process. I mixed these with hot oils (coconut, olive oil, castor, cacao butter, apricot kernel oil, let it all mixes together, watching the temperature do not rise to much, than I added my 50C or 82 F hot ley solution to oils and mixed to make in trace. With my soap recipe I have to work quickly, because hard oils has tendency to turn trace in in solid soap very quickly.
And result is great, I wish I could have more cannabis to make a lot of them.

Look at this foam is it fabulous !

When I posted these soaps in one of the soap makers forum first question I received was – what is a purpose of cannabis soap?

Here is my list of benefits:

  1. It is natural soap
  2. It has its natural color
  3. It is gentle and very firm
  4. It is antiaging
  5. Skin is smooth well hydrated
  6. This soap one is also frangrance free
  7. It even looks eco-friendly

What elso you expect from soap?
See you next time I will post my cannabis butter and ‘Relax cake’ recipes soon, follow me, vote and comment.
Feel free to ask questions!

Sort:  

Today I found out these soaps is great shampoo bar. Yupi! Feel great !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64