MUNCHIE KILLERS: CROCK-POT-NOT-Beef Sammiches (vegan)

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

CROCK-POT-NOT-Beef Sammiches

not-beef-sammiches.jpg

Have you ever been a function at which there are just big slow cookers or roasters filled with shredded meat, seasoned and slow-cooked for the intention of being served on a sandwich? I'm guessing you probably have.

Well, this is my version of that. I don't even really know what you'd call them besides slow cooker beef sandwiches. Mine are made with seitan instead, for extra veganity and gluten.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds seitan, store-bought or homemade.
  • 3 cups vegan beef broth (I used Better Than Bouillon)
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
  • Black pepper (to taste)
  • 1-2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • French bread / hoagie rolls
  • Vegan mayo for serving (optional)
  • Vegan cheese for serving (optional)
  • Lettuce for serving (optional)
  • Tomato for serving (optional)

Instructions:

  • If you started off with chunks of seitan, thinly slice or shred it.
  • Add all ingredients the slow cooker and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  • Serve on toasted bread, dressed as you wish. I used vegan mayonnaise, lettuce, tomato, and cheese.
  • Make sure you have some napkins handy!

IMG_0097.jpg

Sort:  

Yummy! I love a good sandwich, I had similar ones for lunch, but instead of the seitan, I had vegan polony. I also had a ton of hot sauce. 🌶😂

I actually haven't tried seitan before, I keep hearing how awesome it is. Which vegan cheese did you use?

Sounds good! For this one, I used Daiya provolone slices, which are pretty decent. My favorite is the Chao slices, but those are a little more expensive.

I love seitan! It's basically 100% gluten, so gluten-free people can't do it, and that's definitely been a trend in vegan food over the past handful of years. I am still kind of an old-school vegan. ha.

I thought for a while that I was gluten intolerant, so I went gluten free for about 6 months to see how my body would react if I slowly introduced it again.

I haven't had any symptoms and I have been eating a lot of wholegrain bread and pasta, so the seitan shouldn't be any different.

It's always worth a shot. I certainly don't eat it every day or anything.

That seitan look really yummiii
Didn't know you were a vegan @marksheppard!

Thanks! 10 years next month!

You got a 5.26% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @marksheppard!

Flavorful yes, but not spicy as in hot.

For breakfast😍 looks so amazing and delicious 🤤 if you want, check my channel and see my food posts👍

I definitely would eat it for breakfast, but when I originally made this recipe and took the photo, it was definitely dinner. And thank you!

Thank you marksheppard for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 9.59% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You got a 21.57% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @marksheppard!

You got a 2.28% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @marksheppard. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

This post has received a 76.92 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @marksheppard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84