Best Banana bread EVER!

in #recipe6 years ago

What is your favorite food? Mine is home made banana bread! There is just something about it that I just can't get enough of. I have always been a huge fan of bananas and bread so the combination of the two is literally my kryptonite!

Unfortunately since I have been on the road for so long it has been well over a half a year since I have been able to make my famous homemade banana bread. NOT COOL AT ALL!

But today that all changes, now that I am finally in my home and have all the ingredients and dishes its time to get to work!

I found this recipe online a few years back and it is amazing! It is like an explosion of flavor in every bite! I will leave a link at the bottom if your are interested in trying it out.

It all starts with the right bananas! I find its best to use old ones that have black and brown spots on them because they are easier to mash (so that they incorporate more smoothly into the batter), they are also sweeter (because more starch has converted to sugar), and more aromatic when overripe.

Next it's time to start mixing in all the ingredients.

  • Cream together butter and sugar.

  • Add eggs and crushed bananas.

  • Combine well.

  • Sift together flour, soda and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Add vanilla.

  • Mix just until combined, do not over mix!

  • Pour into greased and floured loaf pan.

  • Back at 350F/180C degrees for 55mins.

  • Enjoy the deliciousness!

If you want to try this amazing banana bread recipe Click here for the link

"Peace, love and all this hippie shit"

The STEEM Engine


APP.png

Sort:  

The last time we tried banana bread, we couldn't find the loaf pan (I have a sneaking suspicion the cats broke it and somebody didn't tell me about it.) Soooo ... we bought new loaf pans -- silicone ones that look very odd. But reviewers rave about them -- especially how easy it is to get stuff out of the pan. (They're non-stick and twist like rubber.) So, we may have to try this.

The Weasel is a big fan of banana bread, and I was kind of sorry we ruined the last batch (even though I'm not that fond of it.) We tried baking it in the 9" square brownie pan -- and that didn't work well. (I'm not sure why. I think it should have.)

Anyway ... we also bought silicone muffin trays, so I may try those instead. No more gunky paper muffin cups. Yep, I think bananas go on the grocery list for tomorrow.

Hope you enjoyed yours tremendously.

DAMN sneaky cats! LoL.. I have tried the new silicon pans and I really enjoy them to be honest, unfortunately we gave them all away when we thought we were moving out of the country.

I would guess that the bigger pan didn't work because you didn't cook it long enough, with the bigger pan the middle takes longer to finish but then again the outside gets a bit more crispy, but I agree, it should have worked..?

I am half way done with my loaf already and my fiance hasn't even had a piece yet, so yes, I am enjoying mine tremendously!!! :D

ps. my favorite way to have it is with peanut butter on it! ;) tell @catweasel to try it that way!

Those bright orange silicone pans look and feel like toys. The traditionalist in me just cringes at the sight of them -- having baked for decades in sturdy, non-reactive Pyrex glass.

And, yeah, the bigger pan didn't work in all the ways you mentioned. The center was still raw and the edges were cement hard. The dogs enjoyed it all though. It didn't go to waste.

Peanut butter??? OMG!! The Weasel dips peanut butter out of the jar with his finger and eats it that way. He has his very own peanut butter jar for that, because I think that's disgusting. If he hears about peanut butter on banana bread, he'll turn into an Elvis-clone.

OMG! I eat peanut butter straight out of the jar too but I use a spoon because I'm way to OCD to use my fingers LoL. My fiance calls it my "crack" because I sometimes sneak off before I fall asleep to get a feww spoons full! Peanut butter on banana bread will be his kryptonite!;) LoL

Looks delicious! I tried banana muffins. I like it very much! Thanks for the recipe.

No problem! You wont be disappointed;)

Is this the same as banana cake or slightly different. It looks really tasty. Do you ever have it with cream cheese icing?

Thanks for sharing this.

I have never heard of banana cake so I honestly don't know if there is a difference between the two. But if it is something different then I surely want to try banana cake! ;)

I actually had to Google it in the end - your recipe here looked so similar to ones I've used in the past for banana cake. It turns out the differences are subtle - the cake recipe uses a lighter flour than the bread so ends up being fluffier and less dense. I've added in a link here to a recipe I've used before. Even if you don't make the cake, do yourself a favour and try the cream cheese frosting - it's awesome!!

I often add in some chopped walnuts for texture, maybe a quarter of a cup, and usually don't put the banana on top, but that's more a personal preference. With the frosting, normal milk works fine, and you can put a bit of vanilla in as well - 1 tsp or so is ample.

If you get a chance to make it, I hope you like it!! Banana Cake

Thanks for following up and letting me know! I will definitely give that frosting a try, I am a sucker for sweets ;)

That is an interesting recipe, I have never tried something like this.

I promise you wont be disappointed! It is like an explosion of flavor in your mouth :D

I to love Banana Bread and home made is always the best but I dont think have had any for a couple of years now

Then do ur self a favor and give this recipe a try, you won't be disappointed!

Thats awesome! let me know how it turns out when you try it! :D

Sorry, but I think you have a typo in there:

"SERVES : 10"

I don't think the "0" belongs in there...!

Mmmm. My mom always made really good banana bread. I haven't had it in years. And I've never actually made it myself, but I'm sure I could do it. Your post is tempting me to give it a try!!

I am sure you could do it too! It is easy, so you should definitely go ahead and give it a shot... You won't be disappointed :D

I love banana bread ..give me some. My oven is not working right now.
#steemitbloggers too.

If you live on the east coast in North Carolina then I would be more than willing to share this amazingness with you! ;)

I am in Nebraska .. too far away.

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 191 (7/10/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00