COW TONGUE TACOS - BARBACOA DE LENGUA

in #recipe6 years ago

This is a family favorite of ours, but it was the first time that I ever got the tongue myself.


While I was down at @shalomacres with @mericanhomestead, @beatitudes8, and @randomstuff, we butchered a cow. Many hands make light work, so it went well with all the people that we had helping. Just as we were about to give the remains a "viking funeral" I noticed something.

The head was on top of the burn pile, with the tongue hanging out of its mouth. I took one look at that and knew that there was no way @mama-pepper would ever let me allow the tongue to burned rather than eaten. Though I had never done so before, I figured that I had better go in there and get it out.

I successfully completely part one, which was obtaining the tongue. Below, I will show you how we cook it.

INGREDIENTS

Here is the basic list of what we use when we make our tacos. Individual taste and preference will vary, so if you do try this recipe, feel free to tweak it and "make it your own."

  • Cow Tongue
  • Corn Tortillas
  • 1 Bunch Cilantro
  • 1 White Onion
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Hot Sauce as Preferred
  • Limes or Key Limes if Desired

COW TONGUE TACO RECIPE

We place the whole, washed tongue in a slow cooker with about a half cup of water. We find it best to cook it on low heat for ten to twelve hours.


Once it is fully cooked, it should look like this. The meat should be able to fall apart as you begin to work with it, so if it is very rubbery, you may need to cook it for longer.


Remove the outer layer of skin to expose the meat within.


Using two forks, begin to shred the meat. If the meat is cooked all the way through, this should not be very difficult.


This is what the meat should look like when it is ready. Season with salt and pepper if desired.


Warm the corn tortillas on a skillet so they become soft, warm, and pliable.


Wrap the corn tortillas in a small towel to keep them that way.


Chop the cilantro and place in a bowl.


Dice the onion and place in another bowl.


Set the hot sauces of your choice on the table.

MAKE THE TACOS AND EAT!

After thanking God for the food with your family, it is time to make the tacos and be blessed with a delicious meal. Just put some of the shredded inside one of the corn tortillas, top with cilantro, onions, hot sauce, and a squeeze of a fresh cut lime. Then, enjoy!

We've been eating these for years, and they are much better than the name may lead you to believe. In fact, I've even claimed that they are so tasty, it kind of makes you wish that the whole cow was just one giant tongue out in the field, like a half ton slug or something. If you do give these a try, I think that you will be impressed.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-tongue-tacos

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @papa-pepper for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I am simply shocked at the shear size of that tongue. I have never seen one, I would have expected something much smaller

:0

Wow ! I have never tried tongue before but i do use my slow cooker a lot , and everything comes out so tender in it , it falls apart ! So im sure this is key to cooking tongue ! Your Tacos look yummy @papa-pepper ! 😋😋😋👌👍

Lengua done right can be super tender. To me its like a beef roast. Great for tacos. I'm glad to see another brother of the taco representing on steemit. In Texas we got some killer Tex-Mex and barbacoa is a staple here.

I made Pork Tacos Al Pastor this week when it was cold as hell. Makes my house smell good.
https://steemit.com/food/@harleymechanix/taco-tuesday-1-16-18

Bueno posto Señior Pepper!

phil1.jpg

Is that Phil Collins? The O.G. Mustard Tiger.

Nobody messes with Philadelphia Collins and sons!
#DirtyBurger

ahhhhhh it looks too delicious @papa-pepper !!!!

Nice post. .
Please upvote my post @papa-pepper

Wao que deliciosos se ven, me encantaría probarlos a ver que tal saben con esos ingredientes. Amo los tacos.

The best tacos 🌮 ever My friend is Mexican and gave me this recipe. Delicious Resteemed 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74