Simple beef stir-fry bowl

in #recipe5 years ago

Hello Steemians and FFF fellows,

I hope you are all doing great on another beautiful Friday.

Now, I haven't been very disciplined and have only been able to fit in a post every now and then, but this will be my third Food Fight Friday participation in a row! I'm pretty happy about that and hope you all have also enjoyed some of my favourite meals.

I realised that I haven't shared any savoury meals, and that is what I cook basically every day. Sweets actually make it to my table maybe once a week, and I'm still working on my baking skills so mainly stick to no bake deserts and snacks. And so I made this yummy dinner yesterday and thought it would be a nice entry to the fight.

Hope you enjoy!

20190530_174022_edited.jpg

Prep: 10 min | Cook: 20 min | Servings: 4

Ingredients:
• 500 gr stir-fry beef
• 200 gr brown rice
• 350 gr stir-fry rainbow vegetables mix (shredded white cabbage, carrot, red cabbage, red onion, corn kernels and spinach)
• 1 avocado
• 1/2 cucumber
• Juice of 1/2 lime or lemon
• Sesame seeds
• Tamari or soy sauce
• Olive oil

Instructions:
1. Cook the brown rice in a pan or rice cooker as per packet instruction. Another type of rice can be used if preferred as brown rice cooks slower.
2. Heat a large pan (wok if available) over high heat. Add a tbsp of olive oil and the beef in batches and stir. Cook for a couple minutes and add a tsp of tamari sauce and sesame seeds to taste. Stir well and cook for another few minutes. Remove and set aside to keep warm.
3. Leave oil and meat juices in the pan, add the rainbow vegetables and lime or lemon juice. Stir for 3-4 minutes.
4. Place rice, vegetables and beef in the bowls. Add sliced avocado and cucumber and drizzle with olive oil and extra sesame seeds if desired.

A few notes:
I cook almost exclusively with olive oil, but vegetable oil can be used as well.
I used a Tefal Cook4Me to prepare this meal. Personally, I really like this appliance as it's so convenient and it leaves little to no mess. I regularly cook rice and quinoa in large quantities in it and store them in the fridge for a few days for meal prep, such a time saver. Brown rice cooks in it for about 15 minutes so it gives me just the right time to prepare everything else in the meantime.
Tossing the vegetables in lime juice keeps them looking vibrant and stops the purple leaching out of the cabbage.

This is a perfect quick, easy and delish weekday dinner so make sure to add it to your meal plan.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I love to stir fry, so much healthier than boiling or grilling. Your presentation was a work of art. Thanks for getting in on #fff, we have really great chefs as well as comedians @thebigsweed, @dandays @puravidaville and @jlsplatts, they know where they land.

Thanks @farm-mom! Stir-fries are great, aren't they! Especially for a nice mid-week dinner being so easy and quick to make!

@tianablogs
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 45
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck

This one looks very good. Stopped by this post to upvote since I wasn't able to upvote your other post. This post is just as nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55